Book Review: The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers (The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers, #1) by Lynn Weingarten


The secret sisterhood of heartbreakersTitle: The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers

Author: Lynn Weingarten

Summary: If there’s an upside to having your heart broken, it’s this: A broken heart makes you brave.

The first day of sophomore year doesn’t go the way Lucy planned. After a summer apart from her boyfriend, she’s ready to greet him with a special surprise and instead gets a shocking one in return: He’s breaking up with her. Beyond devastated, Lucy has no idea how she’s going to make it through homeroom, let alone the rest of her life.

Enter three stunning girls with the unnatural ability to attract boys and an offer Lucy can’t refuse: They can heal her heart in an instant. And then she’ll be one of them—a member of a sisterhood that is impervious to heartbreak and has access to magic distilled from the tears of brokenhearted boys. But to gain their power, Lucy must get a guy to fall in love with her the old-fashioned way, and then break his heart in the next seven days.

While the sisterhood may need another Heartbreaker, Lucy’s only desire is to get her ex back. But how far is she willing to go, and who is she willing to cross to get what she wants? -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!

My reviews are just piling up!  Counting this review, plus part two of my Clockwork Princess review, that adds up to seven!  And another review is soon to be added to the pile!  Ahh!

Anyway.

I think I saw this book on an advertisement or something, and I looked it up on Amazon and it seemed pretty interesting, so I ordered it from the library.

This book started nicely, then went downhill, then went back uphill a bit.  One of my major complaints, I suppose, is that I felt that this book wasn’t well-written at times.

Anyway, I’m going to try a different format for this book because my notes are very jumbled (though, not as jumbled as my CP notes, haha!).

Pros:

I was drawn into the book from page one.

I absolutely, positively loved the way the book started.  It was like those movies where there’s a narrator… or… Hmm… Ooh, or like a fairytale, or something!  I guess the book did remind me of a movie that would be aired on ABC Family or something–which is nothing bad at all!  I happen to love ABC Family’s movie marathons (especially during Christmas.  I’m a sucker for ABC Family and the Hallmark Channel during the holidays!).

I liked how the book kind of got right to the point–the breakup.

I think Lucy’s reaction when she first learned of the Sisterhood was very appropriate: realistic but not overdramatized.  That was very well-done.

Her bestie was awesome!

Cons:

Even though I liked that the book got straight to the point, I also wished we got to have a little more time with Lucy (the main character) and Alex, her ex-boyfriend, because I had trouble sympathizing with her because, despite how many times it was mentioned that she was head over heels in love with Alex, we barely got to witness any of it.  The only way we did witness their time spent together was through flashbacks, which were kind of irrelevant.  And, it’s kind of hard to feel for a character you don’t really know too well.

Lucy was kind of a clichéd character.  And she was totally desperate.  After the breakup, every time she did something, her thoughts would be, “Would Alex like this?”  “I wonder what Alex is doing?”  “What would Alex think of that?”  This got really annoying, and it happened frequently throughout the book.  If there’s one thing I don’t like in a character, it’s desperation for attention from the opposite sex.

They played, and the message was: I DIDN’T DO THE HOMEWORK.  When she’d solved the puzzle, Lucy leaned over and whispered, conspiratorially, “Neither did I.” 

Even though she actually had.

“She bought adorable pens and tried to make her handwriting as sexy as possible.”  WHAT THE HECK?!  BAHAHAHA!!!

There were a lot of words that were dragged out like, “croooooo-well,” translating to “cruel” or “beeeep,” and “booooy.”  This happened SO much throughout the book, I sometimes wanted to throw it against the wall and scream.  So, I wasn’t too fond of the author’s writing style.

Lucy’s creepy obsession with her ex was just so eye-rollingly (I know that’s not a word!) annoying.

Lucy’s parents weren’t really a big part of he story, so when we were introduced to them at times (I’m pretty sure we only saw Lucy’s parents, like, twice), the author made it like they’d always been in the story.  They were just kind of thrown at us a few times.

Plain Ol’ Facts:

Lucy ditched her BFF.  Gah, I hate when that happens in books.

Liza was like a way meaner version of Izzy (TMI).  And Gil was like… Gil was like Zoe from Lauren Myracle’s “ttyl.”

Olivia was just so frustrating!  I didn’t like her much…

“If you tell anyone anything about what you just saw or what we just told you it would make us very, very unhappy.  And trust me, you don’t want to see us unhappy.  So…”  She raised her finger to her lips, her mouth spreading into a slow smile behind it.  “Ssh.”  OMG, wasn’t that a total Pretty Little Liars moment?!

Overall, I did like the book, despite all my complaints!  I’m rating it a 3/5.  I think the ending bumped up my rating… And I’ve been inspired to read the next book, too!

 

Let me know your thoughts!

