Harry Potter Series II Albus Severus Potter Chapter III


Chapter III

“Now,” said McGonagall, “I hope you have a wonderful year at Hogwarts. Our Head Girl is Victoire Weasley, and our Head Boy is Jason MacMillan. Your Prefects’ names are on the chart outside the Great Hall. Right, then. Tuck in!”

The moment McGonagall said ‘tuck in’ food appeared on all of the plates. Fortunately, Rose wasn’t as greedy about the food as her father was during his time at Hogwarts.

“See, Albie boy, I told you you’d be Sorted into Gryffindor,” said James taking a gulp of pumpkin juice.

Albus turned slowly towards James and hit his arm.

“Liar. You’re the one who kept saying, ‘Oh, Albus, you’ll be Sorted into Slytherin,’ and all that dung, ” said Albus. “And don’t call me Albie boy!”

After dinner, Albus, James, and Rose got settled into the Gryffindor Common Room, along with Fred Weasley II (their cousin), Seamus Finnigan II, Chrissandra Thomas, Agnolia Creevy, Christopher Longbottom, and many more.

“I’d better owl mum and dad,” said Albus, “they’ll be wondering what House I got Sorted into.”

Albus walked up the stairs that led to the boys’ dormitories and opened his trunk. Albus took out a piece of parchment, a quill, and his ink. Then, Albus walked back downstairs to the Common Room and sat down at a desk near a window.

Dear Mum, Dad, and Lily,

How are you all? I am quite fine.

I got Sorted into Gryffindor! Can you believe it? So did Rose, although she has probably already owled Uncle Ron, Aunt Hermione, and Hugo.

I haven’t made any new friends quite yet. I hope I do make some soon.

Unfortunately, Rose and I had a small encounter with Scorpius Malfoy and his minions. All was well though. Malfoy seemed a bit dense, though.

I can’t wait to see you all during the Christmas holidays.

James, Rose and the rest of us send our love.

I’ll bring you a Chocolate Frog, Lily. Hopefully, Professor Dumbledore’s card will be in there, although it usually is so you don’t have anything to worry about.

Love, Albus

Albus reread the letter. He nodded with satisfaction and walked up the stairs to the boys’ dormitories once again.

“James? James! Are you in here?”

Of course, thought Albus, he wouldn’t be here the only time I need him.

Albus walked out of the portrait hole and saw a girl with her head in her lap crying. He knew that hair.

“Er… hello. You’re Iris, right?” said Albus.

Iris looked up with a tear-streaked face.

“What do you want?” asked Iris.

“Uh… not to pry or anything but…” said Albus although he trailed off.

“Yes. Me. Irissedda Pansy Nott. I’m a… Gryffindor!” said Iris. She whispered the last part.

“Oh, my parents,” said Iris putting her head back down, “oh, they’ll be so disappointed in me.” It sounded a bit muffled.

“Er- hold on a minute. I know I had it in here somewhere,” said Albus as he searched his pocket.

“Ah, here,” said Albus handing her a handkerchief.

Iris stared at him dumbfounded and took the handkerchief. She walked to the lavatory and Albus shrugged and left.

