Harry Potter Series II: Albus Severus Potter Chapter XXV


Chapter XXV

Ginny, Iris, Albus, Lily, and Rose walked into Eeylops Owl Emporium.  Iris noticed Rose throwing dirty looks her way.  She raised a single brow, as if to say, What is the problem?

“Mummy, may I purchase a Snowy Owl?” asked Lily.

“A Snowy Owl?  Do you have enough Galleons for a Snowy Owl?”

“Yep!  I saved all of my birthday money and the spare Sickles and Knuts I found in the sofa cushions.

Ginny laughed.  “Well, then, I suppose you may purchase a Snowy Owl.”

While Lily and Ginny looked around, Albus looked at another owl.  Rose appeared at his side, grinning.

“What’s so funny?” asked Albus.

“Oh, nothing.”  Rose glanced at Iris and laughed.

Iris walked over.  “Is there a problem?”

“There wouldn’t be if I didn’t see Slytherin everywhere I went,” muttered Rose.

“Rose!” said Albus in disbelief.

Iris smirked at her.  “You think I don’t get the same remark from Scorpius?  But then again, he’s always joking.  I don’t think that’s the case here, is it?”

Rose narrowed her eyes.

“Guys.  Can we all just get along?  It’s the Christmas Holidays!” said Albus.

“Fine,” said Rose.

“Albus, Rosie!  Look what owl I’m going to get!” said Lily happily.

“That’s great, Lily,” said Albus.

Lily and Ginny paid while Albus, Rose, and Iris waited outside.

Everyone was very quiet.

Then, Ginny and Lily came outside, Lily cooing at her owl.

“Mum, can we go to Quality Quidditch Supplies?” asked James as he, Hermione, Seamus, and Hugo approached.

“I suppose so.”

Rose scowled.  Unfortunately, Rose had inherited her mother’s flying genes.  She hated it.

Mostly, James and Iris did their shopping here.

“Alright-” said Ginny.  She was cut off by someone.

“UNCLE PERCE!” screeched Lily.  Ginny whipped around.

“Percy!  Don’t do that!  You’re becoming more like George every single day,” muttered Ginny.

“Uncle Percy, what’re you doing here?  Shouldn’t you be at the joke shop?” asked Rose.

“Yes, but our dear Uncle George has sent me on another errand,” replied Percy sarcastically.

The Potters and Weasleys smiled.

“Mum, can I go with Uncle Percy back to the joke shop?” asked Lily excitedly.

“Sure.  Maybe I should take the owl, though,” said Ginny.

“Oh.  Alright.  Goodbye, my little owl!  I shall name you when we arrive home.”

Lily and Percy disappeared in the crowd.

“Mum,” said Albus in a low voice.

“Yes?” asked Ginny.

“I can’t buy anyone presents this year.”

“What?  Why?” asked Ginny.

“I need the money for materials for… A project.”

Ginny eyed him.  “Oh, yes?  What is this project?”

“It’s for Tonks, and Remus, and Uncle Fred, and Sirius, and Grandpa James and Grandma Lily.”

Ginny’s eyes softened.  “Oh, Al.”

“So, you all can get along without me.”

“Al, honey, why don’t I come with you?” asked Ginny.

“Mum… I do appreciate your help, but I wanted to do this on my own.”

“Well… May I make something for them as well?  I think you have the right idea.”

“Sure, Mum.”

“Maybe I can get Dad to bring me back here later, then?” asked Albus.

Ginny’s smile wavered.  She felt happy tears in her eyes.  “Sure, honey.”

Let me know your thoughts!

