Wolf Brother


I stayed up until midnight finishing this book.  It is part of my new library batch.

Wolf Brother was written by Michelle Paver.  This book is the first book of The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series.  It is based 6,000 years ago.  It is about a boy named Torak who made a promise to his father to find the Mountain of the World Spirit to kill the demon bear that killed him.  Torak meets a wolf, a girl named Renn, and her clan.  Torak, Renn, and Wolf go on an adventure to find three items so they can kill the bear.

I think that’s all I’m going to say for my summary of the book because I am not good at writing without spoilers.

I didn’t stay up all night because I thought the book was fabulous.  I stayed up because I wanted to read.  There were quite a few parts of the book when I was thinking, “Can I close this now?”  It was an okay book.

There was a minor HP reminder: as Torak and Renn were looking for their three items (which kind of remind me of Horcruxes because they need these items to kill the bear while HP needed the Horcruxes to kill Voldemort), Renn and Torak mentioned taking turns carrying the items because they were making Renn physically weaker (just like when HP, RW, and HG took turns wearing the locket because of its power).  That was my only thought.

I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars because the book started off slow and the action packed parts did not last for long.  I think I will read the next book.

I loved the clans, though.  That part I did enjoy.

So the next book I am going to read (which I’ve already started–I don’t know if I can finish it, and it’s not because it’s too big.  It’s a rather small book, actually) is The Declaration by Gemma Malley.  I… don’t know about this book.  We shall see.

-littleonion

Let me know your thoughts!

