Gregor the Overlander


Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

Summary (from back of book):

When eleven-year-old Gregor follows his little sister through a grate in the laundry room of their New York apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland beneath the city.  There, humans live uneasily beside giant spiders, bats, cockroaches, and rats–but the fragile peace is about to fall apart.

Gregor wants no part of a conflict between these creepy creatures.  He just wants to find his way home.  But when he discovers that a strange prophecy foretells a role for him in the Underland’s uncertain future, he realizes it might be the only way to solve the biggest mystery of his life.  Little does he know his quest will change him–and the Underland–forever.

Review:

I was very reluctant to read this book, based on its cover and summary.  I just proved the point to never judge a book by its cover.  I decided to give it a go because I loved the Hunger Games trilogy.  I am proud to say that Suzanne Collins did not disappoint!

I loved this book.  Really.  There was not one moment when I felt like I wanted to slam the book shut.  And there was a HUGE twist at the near ending that was so freaking huge!  I am SO going to read the next installment.

I only found two Harry Potter reminders in this book (when do I ever not find a Harry Potter reminder?).  One: In both Gregor the Overlander and Harry Potter, there was a prophecy that was always in the background.

:::SPOILER–DO NOT READ UNLESS YOU FEEL IT NECESSARY!!! (If you would like to skip the spoiler, scroll down until you see the ‘end of spoiler’ message.  It will be in red as well.):::

Two: In both Gregor the Overlander and Harry Potter, Gregor and Harry realized that the prophecy was referring to them.  They realized that they had to sacrifice themselves to save everyone, but they both ended up surviving, because sometimes prophecies’ meanings are jumbled.

:::END OF SPOILER:::

I don’t really know how to explain the whole prophecy jumbleness… why don’t you just read the Percy Jackson series.  I think one of the characters explains what I mean.

There were quite a few touching moments in this book.

My favorite characters are Ripred the Rat and Temp the Cockroach.

Gregor and Ripred had a lot of amusing conversations, I just cracked up at their sarcastic sentences.

Funniest Lines:  “Do rats love?” said Gregor dryly.
“Oh yes,” said Ripred with a smirk.  “We love ourselves very much.”

Best Line:  Gregor held Henry’s cold gaze.  He knew that later he would think of several tough things he should have said to Henry, but he couldn’t think of any now.  Instead, he turned to Luxa and said gruffly, “We’d better patch them up.”

Worst Line:  (I had a worst line, but I didn’t write it down and now I can’t find it.  It was bad because of the way it was written, like it was backwards or something.  And there is A LOT of backwards talking in this book (you’ll understand if you read it).  I think the first word in the sentence was “Probably” and he was referring to Henry’s bat Ares’ healing progress).

If a movie were to be made of this book, and they portrayed Gregor as being a few years older than he was in the book, I think Logan Lerman would be PERFECT as Gregor.

**********

Now resuming Ender’s Game.

Let me know your thoughts!

