Take The Reins


Take The Reins (Canterwood Crest, #1) by Jessica Burkhart

Summary (from back of book):  When Sasha Silver and her horse, Charm, arrive on the campus of the elite Canterwood Crest Academy, Sasha knows that she’s in trouble.  She’s not exactly welcomed with open arms.  One group of girls in particular is used to being the best, the brightest, and the prettiest on the team, and when Sasha shows her skills in the arena, the girls’ claws come out.

Sasha is determined to prove that she belongs at Canterwood.  Will she rise to the occasion and make the advanced riding team by the end of her first semester?  Or will the pressure send Sasha packing?

 

Review:

This book was recommended to me by my cousin.

Canterwood Crest Academy is a school that has many extracurricular activities–including horse riding.  The students live in dorms.  There is your normal trio of mean girls, the main character’s crush, a best friend, and best friend DRAMA (my absolute fave).

It made me feel kind of awkward reading a book containing mean girls because I haven’t read a book like that in a while.  In the books I usually read, the mean girls (or boys) are usually mean because they want to kill you.  But it was an enjoyable book.  There were a few times when I predicted what was going to happen next, but the end was sweet, p. 244.  If you read this book, I forbid you to skip to that page (though it may be tempting) because then you’d be breaking a book lover’s rule (which I just made up): You are NEVER to skip to the ending of a book.  You hear?!?  Good.

I did find one sentence that could have been written better: “Both the advanced team and the Youth Equestrian National Team both require a B average.”

The word ‘both’ could have been used either in the beginning of the sentence or where it was placed the second time it was used–not in both places!

I’d recommend this book to people who like horses, like reading about horses, and people who enjoy stories about friendship, because friendship played a large role in this book.

8 thoughts on “Take The Reins

  1. I LOVE this series! I finished 1-17 (including Chosen) and I can’t wait until June when the next one comes out!!!! I am starting the series over again until then! 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

