Dark Souls


Dark Souls by Paula Morris

Summary (from inside flap): 

Miranda Tennant arrives in York with a terrible, tragic secret.  She is eager to lose herself amid the quaint cobblestones, hoping she won’t run into the countless ghosts who supposedly roam the city….

Then she meets Nick, an intense, dark-eyed boy who knows all of York’s hidden places and histories.  Miranda wonders if Nick is falling for her, but she is distracted by another boy–one even more handsome and mysterious than Nick.  He lives in the house across from Miranda and seems desperate to send her some sort of message.  Could this boy be one of York’s haunted souls?

Soon, Miranda realizes that something dangerous–and deadly–is being planned.  And she may have to face the darkest part of herself in order to unravel the mystery–and find redemption.

 

Review:

I don’t know where I picked up the idea to read this book.  A recommendation from Goodreads?  I don’t know.

I’m glad that I did read Dark Souls.  It’s chilling.  After I was deep into the book, any noise startled me!

As I read, there wasn’t a lot of action until after the halfway point, which was fine.  It was very interesting reading about Miranda and Nick, and all of the information and history he shared with her.  There were a few twists and NOTHING I predicted came true, which I was happy about.  I was even talking aloud:  “Ooh!  I knew it!”  only to be shocked when whatever I ‘knew’ wasn’t true.

I’m not sure I understand the cover.  I expected there to be a scene where Miranda was following Nick to see why he always had to be somewhere.  Or maybe it’s just a random ghost to show that Miranda could see them.

The cover of Dark Souls reminded me of the cover on The Vampire Stalker, which I pointed out in a Book Batch.  The cover also reminded me of Diagon Alley, the main wizarding shopping center in Harry Potter.  And you know the awesome thing?  The resemblance to Diagon Alley is even mentioned in the book:

“Though she had to admit: It did kind of resemble Diagon Alley–quaint and rustic.  Every house in the street looked hundreds of years old.  Throw in a thatched roof and a wand shop or two, and the picture would be complete.”

Due to this book, I also found out what my “Awesome Old-New Music” is classified as:  New Wave.  Now how coincidental is that?

Let me know your thoughts!

