Clockwork Angel


Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1) by Cassandra Clare

Summary (from inside flap):

Magic is dangerous–but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks, and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets.  Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark sisters, who are members of a secret organization called the Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person.  What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them.  She soon finds herself fascinated by–and torn between–two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length… everyone, that is, but Tessa.  As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world… and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

Review:

I read The City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1) by Cassandra Clare and was interested in checking out her other work, so I decided to read Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, which is actually the prequel to The Mortal Instruments.  Naturally, I was really excited.  Was I disappointed with what I read?  Not at all!

When I started reading Clockwork Angel, I couldn’t get through the first page–no, not because the book wasn’t interesting, but because I had so many distractions!  I just couldn’t concentrate!

I did have a little trouble getting into the book at first, partially due to distractions, and partially due to the fact that after the action ended, I felt like it was AGES before I saw some more.  But it wasn’t ages, duh.

For some reason, I feel like I should talk about some of the characters.

Tessa Gray: I liked Tessa a lot.  Or maybe I just like main characters, I don’t know.  She seemed very brave, especially once she got used to her surroundings.  I wish that in the beginning Tessa had used some more commonsense, though.

Will Herondale: This character… well, let’s just say I had mixed feelings for him.  First I liked him, the I didn’t like him, then I kinda sorta began to like him again, then I fully liked him, then I disliked him, then I despised him… yeah, you get the point.

Will kind of reminded me of Jace from the City of Bones.  The cockiness and all.  I like Will better though.

Miranda…: …totally creeped me out.  I hadn’t realized what… well… I’ll just leave it at that.  Don’t want to give away any spoilers!

Sophie: She creeped me out as well, because I made fast assumptions, but as I got to know her (haha), I began to like Sophie more and more.

Jem Carstairs: Ahhhh, Jem.  Jem was perfect.  My first impression of Jem was awesome.  My second impression of him?  Still awesome!  I found nothing wrong with him, whatsoever.  Well, except for his REALLY BIG SECRET.

Charlotte Branwell: Man, I just wanted to give this lady a big hug.  She made me so sad at times.  The nicest thing on earth when it comes to her allies.  Aww…

Henry Branwell: This dude was completely CLUELESS!  But, his inventions were quite the amusement.

I’m not sure if I regret reading the City of Bones before reading Clockwork Angel.  Maybe.  But I really like prequels.  If there were a Harry Potter prequel, I’d read it… well, that’s not a really good example… I’d read anything HP xD.  I’m actually working on a Percy Jackson prequel kind of thing.

I liked how when the main characters were separated, we were able to see what was happening in their POVS and it was written in third person.  I think it depends on the book.  Like in, The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan, I really would have liked each POV to be written in first person, but in Crossed, I wish the POVs were written in first person.

I also loved some of the descriptions Clare wrote.  There was on about vampires that I particularly enjoyed…

There were also a few things that I did not see coming, which is pretty much natural for me, because I’m not all that bright when it comes to reading between the lines or foreshadowing, hehe.

This was a great book.  4/5 stars is what I’d rate it.

2 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel

  1. I loved that book! I agree; I love Will more then I love Jace, although I didn’t have the mixed feelings about him; I lo ed him from the start (:
    I also loved Jem, all the characters in the book were great. Even if they were villains they were still beautifully written. I enjoyed this Series a bit more then TMI; I don’t know if it’s the time period but I felt like this book was better written then TMI and the characters overall were better. I still love The Mortal Instruments though; I just lovery The Infernal Devices a bit more.
    BTW I checked out your blog and it’s amazing! (: Keep up the good work xx

    Like

    • Aw, thank you! I read your blog, too, and I’m excited to read more of your posts ^.^

      Yeah, I definitely love Will more than Jace. I don’t know which series I enjoyed more. Maybe TID seemed better written because Cassandra Clare had more practice with writing. I do love the time period in which TID was based. Can’t go wrong with past England ;D

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

