Rebecca


Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, recommended to me by MMADfan at http://mmadfan.com/

Summary (from Goodreads):

With these words, the reader is ushered into an isolated gray stone mansion on the windswept Cornish coast, as the second Mrs. Maxim de Winter recalls the chilling events that transpired as she began her new life as the young bride of a husband she barely knew. For in every corner of every room were phantoms of a time dead but not forgotten a past devotedly preserved by the sinister housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers: a suite immaculate and untouched, clothing laid out and ready to be worn, but not by any of the great house’s current occupants. With an eerie presentiment of evil tightening her heart, the second Mrs. de Winter walked in the shadow of her mysterious predecessor, determined to uncover the darkest secrets and shattering truths about Maxim’s first wife the late and hauntingly beautiful Rebecca.

Review:

Wow. Just… wow. I am so glad to have read this book. It was amazing! So chilling, haunting, and yet there were times when I was cracking up! It was seriously a rollercoaster ride for me, because I accidentally left it somewhere and I’m so glad it was in the same place I left it when I returned… along with my water bottle…

The only problem I had in the beginning was that the font was too small, but I soon got used to it.

I had a bit of trouble getting into it because it seemed like it took a rather long time for some dialogue to come in. Of course, it was just me, because I had to reread the first few pages a few times due to distractions. Grrr…

The conversation between Mr. de Winter and Mrs. Van Hopper reminded me of that between Mr. Darcy and Ms. Bingley in Pride and Prejudice. Both men from both stories seemed very unimpressed with the women who were trying to impress them.

In the beginning, I got the feeling that the story was a bit vague, which in a way is a good thing because it left more to the imagination.

And then… there was the Manderley vs. Pemberley issue. Pemberley is Darcy’s estate in Pride and Prejudice. While I was doing something random–not reading, that is–I had gotten the strange feeling that Manderley reminded me of something. And then it clicked. So I literally ran to the computer to see if it was only me who had found the slight similarity. I found a post on another blog explaining everything: http://thebennetsisters.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/pemberley-or-manderley/.

The second Mrs. de Winter, who actually doesn’t have a name because the author couldn’t think of one, had many curious thoughts about Mr. de Winter’s late wife, Rebecca. She felt as though people were comparing her to Rebecca. I feel like she was also comparing herself to Rebecca.

As the story progressed, Mrs. de Winter grew more confident and took more matters into her own hands.

I think I foresaw the ending of the book.

Beautiful story: 5/5 stars!

Let me know your thoughts!

