Over Sea, Under Stone


Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark is Rising sequence, #1) by Susan Cooper, recommended to me by MMADfan at http://mmadfan.com/

Summary (from back of book):

Throughout time, the forces of good and evil have battled continuously, maintaining the balance.  Whenever evil forces grow too powerful, a champion of good is called to drive them back.  Now, with evil’s power rising and a champion yet to be found, three siblings find themselves at the center of a mystical war.

Jane, Simon, and Barney Drew have discovered an ancient text that reads of a legendary grail lost centuries ago.  The grail is an object of great power, buried with a vital secret.  As the Drews race against the forces of evil, they must piece together the text’s clues to find the grail–and keep its secret safe until a new champion rises.

Review:

Hmm.

I had a difficult time getting into this book.  It didn’t grab me at first.  I was having some serious doubts about this book, so I gave it fifty pages to impress me.  Did it impress me within those fifty pages?  I have to say that it did.

It began to get more interesting when they… yeah… not telling.  Also, the foreshadowing is what sparked my interest.  That and the cliffhangers.  I was quickly drawn into the book at around page 40, but not so much that I couldn’t close it if I wanted to.

There were times when it got a bit boring, and then there were times when I was like, “WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN?!?!?”

Over Sea, Under Stone was a good book, but I’m not sure if I’m going to read the next book: The Dark is Rising.  3/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Over Sea, Under Stone

  1. Over Sea, Under Stone is the least good book in the series, and much more a children’s book than YA. I bet you’d like the Dark is Rising much better. My favorite was Greenwitch, though not everyone enjoys it as much.

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

