Reached


Reached (Matched, #3) by Ally Condie, recommended to me by Emma at http://hpandmore.wordpress.com/

Summary (from inside flap):

All will be sorted.

Cassia’s journey began with an error, a momentary glitch in the otherwise perfect façade of the Society.  After crossing canyons to break free, she waits, silk and paper smuggled against her skin, ready for the final chapter.

The wait is over.

One young woman has raged against those who threaten to keep away what matters most–family, love, choice.  Her quiet revolution is about to explode into full-scale rebellion.

With exquisite prose, the emotionally gripping conclusion to the international bestselling Matched trilogy returns Cassia, Ky, and Xander to the Society to save the one thing they have been denied for so long, the power to choose.

 

Review–This review may contain spoilers:

This book was amazing.  Absolutely amazing.

I did find a few similarities to the Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins:

“The Pilot (Mockingjay) leads the Rising (Uprising)–the rebellion against the Society (Capitol)–and the Pilot never dies.  When one Pilot’s time has finished, another comes to lead.”

“The portscreen is showing me bodies.
“It’s worse even than those burned, flung-aside, blue-marked corpses on top of the Carving.  Worse than the stone rows of graves in the settlement where Hunter put his daughter down with care and farewell.  The sheer numbers make this terrible, make it nearly impossible for my mind to take in.  The camera goes up and down the rows so that we can see how many bodies there are.  Up and down and up and down.
“Why are we watching?
“Because they’re showing the faces.  The camera lingers on each person, long enough for us to register either recognition or relief.  And then it moves on, and we are afraid again.”

Other than that, though, I don’t think I found any other similarities that aren’t planted in all dystopian books.  A lot of these similarities we find in dystopians are inevitable not to find.

The book is divided into five parts and is written in three POVs: Cassia’s, Xander’s, and Ky’s.  Reached started in Xander’s POV, but for some reason, for the first few pages, I was thinking Ky.  I guess beause in Crossed, it started in Ky’s POV.  I had to read a sentence twice before realizing whose POV I was in.  This is not a diss to the book–it was a mistake on my part.

What I really enjoyed throughout all of the Matched trilogy is their advanced technology.  It’s very unique in this book.  The ports, scribes, miniports, and datapods.  Very clever!

I also enjoyed reading about the Archivists.  They were very… shady.

For some reason, I didn’t really trust the Pilot.

This book seemed like it wasn’t as calm as Matched, but not as harsh as CrossedReached was not what I expected it to be… and I was pleasantly surprised.  I thought it was going to be exactly like Mockingjay.  I’m very glad it had its own little unique thing going on.

At times, I was completely shocked at events that were going on.

4/5 stars!

5 thoughts on “Reached

  1. You have finally read it! Lovely review?

    Question: Did you fall in love with Xander? Gah. I fell in love with him in the last installment. I loved both him and Ky because they didn’t fight over Cassia. It was a different sort of love triangle and I absolutely loved that. Plus, it was just such a beautiful ending!

    Like

    • It was! Xander was sweet. And you’re right, it was a different kind of love triangle. Instead of fighting for Cassia, Xander was actually helping Ky get Cassia. Ahh!
      I wish there had been an epilogue written, but it was a great book!

      Like

  2. Ohhh I’m glad you like like it! OMG I loveeee Xander, he’s so sweet in this last book!!! Well I would recommend this book! It really has something different to other triangle love books! It’s just amazing ❤ I really thought you would enjoy this triology!

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

