Kidnapped: A Dramansy Story


Chapter 3

Hermione and Pansy landed in Jenkin and Jolly’s Lunch Time House.  Immediately, Hermione recognized the restaurant.  She, Ron, Harry, and Ginny had gone there for a special meal a few years prior.  It was an expensive diner, but then again, Pansy was a pure-blood.  But still.

Pansy led Hermione to a table.  A man with blonde hair was sitting there.  Pansy didn’t remove the handcuffs keeping her and Hermione together, so when Pansy slid into the booth, Hermione hit her knee.  Hermione swore.

“Where is he?” Pansy asked impatiently.

“I don’t know,” said the blonde man.  Could it be?  It couldn’t possibly be…

“He promised he’d be here!  Thanks to him, I always have to reschedule.  I’m not his bloody servant.  GO FIND HIM!”

The blond scurried off.

“Listen to me.  Granger, are you listening to me?” asked Pansy, shrilly.

“Yes!” said Hermione.

“Okay.  Listen to me and listen well.  I am going to take off the handcuffs, meaning you will no longer be protected–”

“What are you going at, what–”

“No interruptions!  After I untie us, you are to keep a firm hold on–here.  Just put this on your wrist.”  Pansy placed a tattered bracelet on the booth.  Hermione picked it up and it disappeared from Pansy’s view.

“Are you wearing it?” asked Pansy.

“Yes.”

“Okay.”  Pansy pulled a small key from her pocket.  She inserted the key into place.  It clicked when she turned it.  When Pansy looked up, she saw Draco Malfoy sitting across from her with a grim expression on his face.

**********

Hermione slowly faded into view, first looking transparent, then looking normal.  “Will someone please tell me what’s going on?”  She saw Draco and frowned.

“Pansy, Marcus is dead,” said Draco.  Pansy’s expression changed briefly.  For a second, it seemed as though she wanted to cry.  The emotion quickly passed.  “He never was good at being secretive,” she said finally.

The waiter came and asked them what they wanted.  He had black hair with a silver stripe.  His eyes were silver as well.  They each ordered a butterbeer.  The waiter lingered.  Draco noticed.  “You may go now.”  The waiter left.

“Granger,” Draco said.  “We need to talk.”

“No, we don’t.”  Hermione stood but Pansy pulled her back down.  “It concerns your family’s safety.  And your own, of course.”  Hermione paid more attention.  “What do you mean?”

“We’ve gotten an anonymous tip that you and your family are in great danger,” said Pansy.

“What are you talking about?” asked Hermione angrily.  “That’s the question that hasn’t been answered!”  Her family was perfectly safe.  Draco seemed to hear her thoughts.  “If they are so safe, would you explain this death threat?”  He produced a slip of paper.  It was no larger than a fortune in a fortune cookie.  He slid it to her and she glanced at it.

“Why can’t you hand it to me, Malfoy?  Is it because I’m a filthy Mudblood?”

“Granger, we are adults now, are we not?  I think we can manage a civil conversation,” said Draco flatly.  Hermione glared at him.  “Oh, just read it, woman!”

Hermione plucked the paper from the table.  It read, You will pay.  She scoffed.  “This isn’t exactly a death threat, Malfoy.  And how does this, in any way, lead to me?”

“There was more,” said Draco.  “It was frightening.  I hid it.”

“Alright.  Why are you both trying to protect me?  Frightening?  Ha!  I bet you would kill for the chance to frighten me!  You two hated me.”

“Because it links to us too,” said Pansy.  “I don’t know how and I don’t know why, but if you’re hurt, we’re hurt.  Say someone cursed you,” said Pansy gleefully, “and it hurt really badly.  We’d feel it too.  So if you die…”

“You two die,” whispered Hermione, understanding it. “I’ve never read about this before.”

“Yeah, well. It’s dark stuff, Granger.  You wouldn’t understand it.”

“So how do I protect my family?” asked Hermione.

“I’ll have to place a Glamour on you so you aren’t recognizable. You’ll also have to pull your daughter out of Hogwarts and probably place Glamours on your entire family, including your large… extended family,” said Pansy.

“Why would you have to place a Glamour on my extended family?” asked Hermione?

“Well, you and your two friends haven’t had the track record of just saving yourselves,” said Draco. Hermione gave him a confused look.

“The point is, the person who’s plotting to ‘make you pay’ will do anything to lure you to them,” said Draco. “They’ll use family, friends–”

“I’m not Harry,” said Hermione slowly.

“Are you saying you wouldn’t save your friends and family if they needed you?” grilled Draco.

“I–”

“Draco!  Need I remind you, Draco, that you haven’t told the Mud– Granger— the worst part of the plan on your part?”

Draco closed his eyes and shuddered. “We’ll have to marry.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kidnapped: A Dramansy Story

Let me know your thoughts!

