Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane


Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (Underland Chronicles, #2) by Suzanne Collins

Summary (Goodreads):

In the months since Gregor first encountered the strange Underland beneath New York City, he’s sworn he won’t ever go back. But when another prophecy, this time about an ominous white rat known as the Bane, calls for Gregor’s help, the Underlanders know the only way they can get his attention is through his little sister, Boots. Now Gregor’s quest reunites him with his bat, Ares, the rebellious princess Luxa, and new allies and sends them through the dangerous and deadly Waterway in search of the Bane. Then Gregor must face the possibility of his greatest loss yet, and make life and death choices that will determine the future of the Underland. 

Suzanne Collins has created characters and a world that are capturing countless imaginations. This second installment of the Underland Chronicles is sure to win her even more enthusiastic fans.

 

Review:

I adored Gregor the Overlander, surprisingly.  But then again, I wasn’t surprised.  I judged the book by its cover and had no idea what to expect.  Then again, Suzanne Collins did write it, so I shouldn’t have been too surprised.

I finally got around to reading Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane, and boy was it good!  The characters seemed entirely real and I read it in about a day.  It had a little over 312 pages, and usually, I take two to three days to read a book that long!

The Prophecy of Bane (the actual prophecy, not the book) reminded me of the Harry Potter prophecy at first, but as I read more, I began to realize that there were no similarities other than that it was a prophecy.

It did strike me as odd that Gregor was allowed to go back to the Underland and his parental unit barely stopped him from doing so.  But, it’s a fantasy book, so what do I expect?

The book was funny, serious, and touching without being over the top.  Suzanne Collins never ceases to surprise.  I can’t wait to read the next book.  5/5 stars!

*On a different note, it seems like I’ve been reading a lot of books with bonding: Clockwork Prince (Cassandra Clare), Let The Sky Fall (Shannon Messenger), and now Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane?  What’s next?

Let me know your thoughts!

