Of Poseidon


Of Poseidon (Of Poseidon, #1) by Anna Banks

Summary (Goodreads):

Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen—literally, ouch!—both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma’s gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom…

Told from both Emma and Galen’s points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.

 

Review:

Boy, do I have some words for this book!  But… before I start my ranting, I just found out it has a sequel (thank goodness–with the ending it had, it better have a sequel) and I just ordered it from my library, like, five seconds ago.  It’s called Of Triton.  I have some words for him too.

The only reason I picked up this book was because of its title and its cover.  I’m familiar to the Greek God of the Sea due to the Percy Jackson series, so I figured I was on friendly territory.

The book is fast-paced, which I liked.  In the beginning, it seems to have nothing to do with Poseidon, but that quickly changes.

The book was written in Emma’s POV and in third person, switching between the two.

Least Favorite Line: “Captivation when he told her how Poseidon and Triton were flesh-and-blood Syrena, the first generals of their kind, not some gods that human lore made them out to be.” 

Well, to be frank, I happen to prefer Poseidon as “some god that human lore made him out to be,” thank you very much!

I do have to admit, this book was really funny.  I found myself laughing more than once.

Now, here are my words for Triton… really about Triton, actually: In the book, Triton is made to be Poseidon’s brother: “Poseidon enjoyed living with the humans.  He permitted his followers to mate with them.  Even Poseidon chose a human mate, against his brother Triton’s wishes.”

Being a Percy Jackson fan, I’ve looked at quite a few Greek god/goddess family trees.  Nowhere did I see Triton listed as his brother.  So I looked it up on my trusty friend, Internet, and confirmed that Triton was not Poseidon’s brother, but his son.  I don’t know if the author did this on purpose, because they weren’t gods in her story, or if she just didn’t do her homework.  But it got to me.

Aside from that, I liked the book and can’t wait to read Of Triton.  3/5 stars.

4 thoughts on “Of Poseidon

Let me know your thoughts!

