Twilight


Twilight (Twilight Saga, #1) by Stephenie Meyer

Summary (Goodreads):

Isabella Swan’s move to Forks, a small, perpetually rainy town in Washington, could have been the most boring move she ever made.  But once she meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, Isabella’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn.  Up until now, Edward has managed to keep his vampire identity a secret in the small community he lives in, but now nobody is safe, especially Isabella, the person Edward holds most dear.  The lovers find themselves balanced precariously on the point of a knife between desire and danger.  Deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight captures the struggle between defying our instincts and satisfying our desires.  This is a love story with bite.

 

Review–part movie review AND book review:

*Warning: Spoilers may occur*

I’ve been really procrastinating with typing this review… I have no idea why…

I don’t think this is really a movie review, but I compare the book to the movie a few times, so… call it what you want.

So!  I’ve FINALLY read Twilight, despite all of the negative comments I’ve heard about it.  And I have to say, it wasn’t what I expected, in a good way.

I watched the movie first, and then I read the book.  I’m glad I watched the movie first because then when I was reading the book, I caught what the movie didn’t talk about.  For example, I hadn’t understood why a thunderstorm was necessary for the Cullens to play baseball in the movie (then again, that could’ve been me, because I’m really no good at taking a hint, hahaha!!!), but in the book, it was explained: because the sound of the baseball bat hitting the ball was so loud, it was literally thunderous, so people would hear it.  But what if they heard it in the middle of the day when it was as sunny as can be?  That would cause some problems for the Cullens.

The movie was okay, nothing to be excited about, so I was really hoping the book would be better.  And surprisingly, it was.  I think that’s mostly because there were so much information that the movie didn’t provide.  Towards the end of the book, when Bella was going to try to help her mom, I began to lose interest because there really wasn’t anything that wasn’t explained enough in the movie.

As I read the book, I began to realize that Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson didn’t do Bella and Edward justice.  They could have chosen actors who better portrayed the characters.  I have no problem with either actors, I just don’t think they suited the characters.  I was thinking for Bella, maybe Lily Collins, but that’s probably because I have her on the brain due to all the City of Bones stuff going on.

I harbored confused feelings toward Bella.  First, she was suffering from Edwardphobia, then, she couldn’t wait to see him–and this was before they were dating.

I then began to think of the relationship between Bella and Edward as silly.  They’re still not dating at this point, but I was cracking up at literally every conversation they had in the first half of the book.

Here are my go-to crack-up lines:

I turned my head sharply away from him, clenching my jaw against all the wild accusations I wanted to hurl at him.  I gathered my books together, then stood and walked to the door.  I meant to sweep dramatically out of the room, but of course I caught the toe of my boot on the door jamb and dropped my books.  I stood there for a moment, thinking about leaving them.  Then I sighed and bent to pick them up.  He was there; he’d already stacked them into a pile.  He handed them to me, his face hard.

“Thank you,” I said icily.

His eyes narrowed.

“You’re welcome,” he retorted.

This is where my laughter began: “I meant to dramatically sweep out of the room.”  Yeah, says the girl who doesn’t seem like she’s one for dramatics.  HAHAHAHA!!!

At this point, I could not stop LAUGHING.

“Why won’t you leave me alone?” I grumbled.

“I wanted to ask you something, but you sidetracked me,” he chuckled.  He seemed to have recovered his good humor.

“Do you have a multiple personality disorder?” I asked severely.

“You’re doing it again.”

I sighed.  “Fine then.  What do you want to ask?”

“I was wondering if, a week from Saturday–you know, the day of the spring dance-“

“Are you trying to be funny?” I interrupted him, wheeling toward him.  My face got drenched as I looked up at his expression.

His eyes were wickedly amused.  “Will you please allow me to finish?”

I bit my lip and clasped my hands together, interlocking my fingers, so I couldn’t do anything rash.

So now, I’m laughing whether or not it’s supposed to be funny.

“Early spring is Emmett’s favorite bear season–they’re more irritable.”  He smiled at some remembered joke.

“Nothing more fun than an irritated grizzly bear,” I agreed.

I like how when Bella’s with Edward, she’s not afraid of him being a vampire, but she’s afraid of the normal things like his tendency to drive fast.  Bella would tell him to slow down and he’d be all, “So you’re worried, not because you’re in a car with a vampire, but because that vampire might get a speeding ticket?” or “So you’re afraid, not because you’re going into a house full of vampires, but because you’re afraid those vampires won’t approve of you?”

Bella likes to read though, so that’s one point for her in my book.

In the book, Bella has an old computer that’s super slow.  In the movie, however, she has a sleek black Apple laptop.

I didn’t like how Bella was stringing Jacob along just to know why the Cullens couldn’t go to La Push.

I don’t like Jessica.  All she does is gossip and is always pumping Bella for information about what she and Edward talk about when they’re together.  It began to annoy me.

Mike didn’t seem too into Jessica either.  He was still trying to win Bella over.  I think they downplayed that in the movie, because he seemed totally into Jessica then.

In the book, Bella’s friends don’t really seem to be… friends.  You don’t really (if ever) hear Angela speak, Jessica gossips, and the boys who claim to be her “friends” are all trying to date her.

And my last complaint: I feel like Edward and his family have no issues, aside from the obvious.  They seem too perfect.  Flawless looks, nice cars, etc., etc., etc.

So there’s my review.  I give Twilight 3/5 stars.

5 thoughts on “Twilight

  1. This series really annoyed me. Why? Not sure. Maybe it was because Bella was annoying. I will never understand why girls think she is a great role model (and people do!). The way she led Jacob on and on and on drove me crazy. I’m one of those people who – if I read the first book – must finish a series no matter what, so it was a hard struggle.

    Her friends do indeed seem not that friendly, and apparently she is so interesting that every guy wants to date her! lol. I never liked Edward. He was really boring, and I find nothing romantic about a guy who waits in your room while you sleep. That’s not romantic. That’s a stalker. haha.

    Great review. You pretty much touched on all the things I found silly, too. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! Yes, I have a feeling that this isn’t the best series, but I, like you, must finish a series once I’ve started it : )

      Bella? A great role model?! I don’t think so. I just recently saw this image on Goodreads that cracked me up: http://www.twi-tarts.com/manage/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Hermione-and-Bella.jpg and then I found one on my own that said, “When the love of Hermione’s life left her, she continued to search for the keys to destroying the world’s most powerful dark wizard. When the love of Bella’s life left her, she curled up in the fetal position, went numb for months, then jumped off a cliff.” I’m not trying to compare the two books (though it seems like I am), but there are much, much, MUCH better role models out there than Bella (I can’t remember her last name…).

      The way she led Jacob on made me crazy!

      Thanks for reading my review! I find it more of a rant, though… xD

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

