A Monster Calls


A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Summary (Goodreads):

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

 

Review:

This isn’t a very long review, but let me just say that this is a beautiful book, both inside and out.  The illustrations are beautiful.  I haven’t read a book with illustrations in what seems like forever.  The story was fantastic.  Magnificent.  Wonderful.  Fabulous.  Beautiful.  Amazing.  Spectacular.  I’m running out of synonyms. 

When I first read the synopsis, I wasn’t too sure about the book, but it has a very high rating– 4.34 stars, so I decided to read it.

And oh.  My.  Goodness.  It was wonderful.  As I pointed out in my first paragraph.

A Monster Calls is pretty unpredictable, so I really liked that aspect of it.

Funniest Lines:

“Who cares even if I didn’t?!” Conor shouted back.  “They’re just stupid berries.  Woo-hoo, so scary.  Oh please, please save me from the berries!”

The monster looked at him quizzically.  How strange, it said.  The words you say tell me you are scared of the berries, but your actions seem to suggest otherwise.

“You’re as old as the land and you’ve never heard of sarcasm?” Conor asked.

Oh, I have heard of it, the monster said, putting its huge branch hands on its hips.  But people usually know better than to speak it to me.

Favorite Lines: Stories are important, the monster said.  They can be more important than anything.  If they carry the truth.

5/5 stars for this book!

2 thoughts on “A Monster Calls

Let me know your thoughts!

