Book Review: Eclipse (Twilight Saga, #3) by Stephenie Meyer


EclipseTitle: Eclipse

Author: Stephenie Meyer

Synopsis: As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob – knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?

Readers captivated by Twilight and New Moon will eagerly devour Eclipse, the much-anticipated third book in Stephenie Meyer’s riveting vampire love saga. -Goodreads

Review:

So, I’ve read Twilight.  Gave it three stars.  I’ve read New Moon.  Gave it two stars.  And now, I’ve read Eclipse, which is where I’m stopping with this series.  I’ve heard a lot about Breaking Dawn, and I’ve decided I don’t want to read it.

The first thing I did when I started reading this book was flip to the last page to see how many pages were in the book.  I was thrilled to see that it exceeded 600 pages!  I haven’t read a book that big in a while.

In this book, I did find a lot of funny lines, thank goodness.  I was so scared that this would be as horrid as New Moon.  Most of the funny conversations involved Bella, Jacob, and the occasional Edward.  Charlie was also pretty funny.  Hahaha!

Funny Lines:

“You could have called us,” Edward said in a steel-hard voice.

“Sorry,” Jacob answered, his face twisting into a sneer  “I don’t have any leeches on my speed dial.”

*****

“This is hardly the place, Jacob, could we discuss this later?”

“Sure, sure.  I’ll stop by your crypt after school.”

I usually don’t have a favorite page, but I think I can make an exception.  Page 149 was my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE!!!

I was really, really happy to see more of Angela in this book.  She finally used her voice!

I now understand the whole Team Edward or Team Jacob fuss–do you remember that?  Years–four or five–ago everyone would be popping the question: “Team Edward or Team Jacob?!”  All I knew was that these people were from a book I hadn’t read.  Now, I think I can say… Team Jacob.

Alice is so AWESOME!  In Twilight, I was a bit suspicious of her, but now she’s the life of the party!!!

I really liked how Edward and Jacob had a civilized conversation at one point.  That was a very nice touch right there that bumps my rating up to… 3 stars.  I really felt a deja vu sensation.  Maybe I was recalling another book with a love triangle and the two guys spoke while the girl was “asleep.”

In the end, I realized that yes, the Twilight Saga (at least the three books I read) were alright… but they didn’t quite live up to the hype, which was a bit disappointing.  But, it’s like you have to rate the books by category.

3/5 stars.

Let me know your thoughts!

