Book Review: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer


CinderTitle: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Synopsis: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. -Goodreads

 

Review:

*Warning: Spoilers lie ahead*

I’ve been wanting to read Cinder for a few months now.  Every time I thought about it, I would think to myself, “I thought I ordered this from the library last week.”  So this went on for a while before I finally did order the book.  Hehe… yeah.

I’d like to take a moment to praise the design of this book.  I absolutely love the way Cinder is written on the cover.  Then, you can see a leg (Cinder’s) and it’s kind of like an x-ray photo because you can also see metal “bones,” because she’s a cyborg.  I thought that was an interesting touch.

The font was also different from most books, which made it pretty different.

Cinder is yet another Cinderella story–which I hadn’t known.  Of course, I should have been tipped off when I saw the title and the glass ruby slipper on the cover.  No, wait, ruby slipper was the Wizard of Oz

But I wasn’t tipped off, because you know how I am with hints: completely CLUELESS!

I have this habit where I’m drawn to a book by its cover and I don’t, um, even read the summary… but that’s beside the point!

I like how Marissa Meyer made the whole Cinderella part more believable.  The step-mother, or rather, the guardian, wasn’t over-the-top cruel, and the sisters acted pretty much normal.  Cinder was actually friends with her younger sister, Peony.

As I read Cinder, I wasn’t thinking “dystopian.”  I was thinking “science-fiction.”

During the beginning of the book, I was thinking that there was still room for improvement.  There… er… wasn’t much improvement.

The romance was pretty blah.  Nothing interesting.  I think I preferred… TWILIGHT’S romance.  Just kidding, but seriously, the romance could have been better.

The twists and turns were pretty obvious–even for me!!!  Before I was halfway into the book, I knew that Cinder was the one and only Princess Selene.

Cinder wasn’t as good as I expected, so I don’t know if I’ll read its sequel.  2.5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the book that much! I thought the plot was predictable at times too but I still liked it… I guess it’s just a difference of opinion! (:

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

