Kidnapped: A Dramansy Story


Chapter 10

“Whahappened?” asked Hermione, bolting up.

“You were hit with a ‘custom spell,’ as Zabini puts it,” Draco said, handing Pansy one of the potions that Blaise had left.

“Zabini?  As in Blaise?”

“No, the other one,” Pansy said sarcastically.  Hermione glared at Pansy.  “Oh, I’m sorry for asking questions when, one: I’m abducted by a former school mate who hated me–”

“I think ‘abducted’ is a bit harsh,” interrupted Pansy.

Two: I’m fighting maniacs to save your arse, and three: while trying to help you, Parkinson, I’m attacked and rendered unconscious.  Yeah, I shouldn’t be expected to ask questions.  My bad.”  The three were all silent, Hermione’s words lingering in the air.  Finally, she turned to Draco and said, “I didn’t know he was a Healer.”

“There’s a lot people don’t know about Zabini,” said Draco in a tired voice.

“We’ll have to place another Glamour on you, just not for a few days,” Pansy said.

“Why?”

“Because Blaise will be checking in on you in a few days to make sure you’re doing better,” said Pansy.  Why, thought Hermione, did Parkinson sound so jealous?  Hermione raised a brow, but did not question the relationship between Pansy and Blaise any further.

“Does he know?  About…” said Hermione, trailing off.

“Do you think we’re that thick?” Draco asked.  “Of course not.”

“As a matter of fact, I do,” said Hermione.

What did you say?” asked Draco in a very low voice.

“I said, I do think you’re that thick,” Hermione repeated.  She felt smug; Draco was restraining himself from doing something he’d regret.

“What are you going to do, Malfoy?  Curse me?  Hex me?  Go ahead, then.  Do it,” Hermione taunted.  When Draco did nothing but clench and unclench his fists repeatedly, Hermione laughed.  “Good choice.  If I might remind you, whatever you do to me, you’ll be the second to feel the pain, Malfoy.”

“Guys–” said Pansy, uncharacteristically trying to stop the argument.

“You think I’m afraid to hurt you?” asked Draco.  “Because I wouldn’t hesitate to do so.”

“Then do it,” Hermione said simply.  “I am completely vulnerable and am in no state to perform magic.  You know, Ferret, if you want people to take you seriously, live up to your threats, stop giving people empty threats.”

“Stop–” Pansy tried again.

Draco pulled his wand from his blazer, but Pansy wrenched it out of his hand and hit him on the head with it.  “Are you not thinking properly or something?  You IDIOT!” she shouted, whacking him on the head again.

“Ouch!” Draco yelled.  “That hurts, woman!”  He edged away from Pansy.

“I’ll Disarm you both if this happens again!” Pansy said shrilly.  She spun on her heel and stalked out of the room.

“Wow,” said Draco in shock.

Hermione considered her words before she said, “We… need to work together, Malfoy, and… Ithinkweshouldcallatruce.”  Draco stared at Hermione.  “A truce?  Ha!” he said in astonishment.

“I am serious!” Hermione said stubbornly.

“Alright, alright, woman!” Draco shouted.  “Okay!”

Hermione held her hand out.  Draco stared at it incredulously.  “You’re supposed to shake it,” Hermione prompted.

Draco glared at Hermione.  “No, really?  I had no idea.”  He shook her hand twice and took his wand out of his pocket, “Scorgify.”  He smirked at Hermione, who glared at Draco.  “That’s insulting.”

“Yeah, well.  That’s me.”

“It doesn’t have to be!” Hermione insisted.

“Granger, let me explain something to you.  We may be working together, but that doesn’t mean, nor does it give you the right to change me.  You know how I was raised.  Yes, I was on your side in the War, but a man can never change.  Yes, some aspects of my life have changed and I am not prejudiced against Muggleborns, and you have proven to be a very… educated witch, but some things in a person’s life take a while to change.  Or maybe never.”

Hermione sighed.  “Fine.  You pluck me from my family, insult me, can’t even shake my hand, and now you won’t leave me alone.  Please, just leave.  I need rest,” she said tiredly.  Draco narrowed his eyes at Hermione but nodded and left the room, shutting the door.  Hermione let her head rest on the pillow and fell asleep shortly.

Let me know your thoughts!

