Book Review: Pure (Pure Trilogy, #1) by Julianna Baggott


PureTitle: Pure

Author: Julianna Baggott

Summary: We know you are here, our brothers and sisters . . .
Pressia barely remembers the Detonations or much about life during the Before. In her sleeping cabinet behind the rubble of an old barbershop where she lives with her grandfather, she thinks about what is lost-how the world went from amusement parks, movie theaters, birthday parties, fathers and mothers . . . to ash and dust, scars, permanent burns, and fused, damaged bodies. And now, at an age when everyone is required to turn themselves over to the militia to either be trained as a soldier or, if they are too damaged and weak, to be used as live targets, Pressia can no longer pretend to be small. Pressia is on the run.

Burn a Pure and Breathe the Ash . . .
There are those who escaped the apocalypse unmarked. Pures. They are tucked safely inside the Dome that protects their healthy, superior bodies. Yet Partridge, whose father is one of the most influential men in the Dome, feels isolated and lonely. Different. He thinks about loss-maybe just because his family is broken; his father is emotionally distant; his brother killed himself; and his mother never made it inside their shelter. Or maybe it’s his claustrophobia: his feeling that this Dome has become a swaddling of intensely rigid order. So when a slipped phrase suggests his mother might still be alive, Partridge risks his life to leave the Dome to find her.

When Pressia meets Partridge, their worlds shatter all over again. -Goodreads

Review:

Warning: May contain spoilers

I’ve had Pure in my stack of books for a few weeks now, so I’ve decided to finally read it.

When I read the summary, it seemed very interesting.  And it was!  Man, I can’t even begin to describe this book.  For one thing, it was, in my eyes, extremely disturbing.  If you don’t like disturbing or graphic images, then I wouldn’t recommend this book to you.  It got even more disturbing towards the end.  The fighting is pretty graphic and intense.  But through my cringing and wincing, I pushed myself to read!  It’s also waaay different from any other post-apocalyptic book I’ve read.  Simply amazing.

Pure is written in four POVs: Pressia, Partridge, El Captain, and Lyda’s.  I thought that is was very interesting how the author wrote this out.  I asked myself why she chose to write El Captain and Lyda’s POVs.  They didn’t seem very important in the beginning, especially Lyda, but I understood that their importance increased as I got deeper into the book.

At first, I preferred Partridge’s POV to Pressia’s because his seemed, er… less disturbing.

In the beginning, I was reminded of quite a few books, but not in a bad way.  It was because… well… how to explain this?  Okay, so I would read something in Pure and I would be like, “Oh, that reminds me of The Cabinet of Wonders.”  So yeah.

Now, a lot of dystopian/post-apocalyptic books are written in present tense.  But, I can’t recall ever reading one that was written in third person.  The present tense writing plus the third person made it feel like some else was looking forward to the future and telling everyone what was going on… like this someone already knew what was going to happen.  I don’t know, it’s hard to explain, but I soon got used to that.

The injuries in this book were… wow.  Just so graphic.  More real than the Hunger Games, in some ways.  This book was scary!  It was terrifyingI was terrified!  The suspense was maddening.  And these are all impressions I had within the first chapter.  It really is amazing how I felt when I reached Chapter 2.  I was exploding with thoughts, haha!

Julianna Baggott is freaking amazing!  She’s got guts!  I would not be able to write something so graphic.  It would scare the life outta me, I’m telling you.

There were some pretty huge twists in the story as I neared the end.  After I thought about it for a few minutes, I realized that I thought that the first twist was going to happen, like, I saw it coming.  I just didn’t want to acknowledge it.

I was also misled.  I thought I was looking for romance between Partridge and Pressia, but no, no, no, no, NO!  It was someone else entirely!  Someone who’s not even mentioned in the synopsis O_o

But, yeah, the romance wasn’t overboard *cough, Twilight, cough* and it definitely wasn’t a main part of the story.

And then there were twists, twists, and more twists!

I kinda expected the whole family reunion thing to be more, um, I don’t know, emotional?  I felt it was rather sloppy.

Overall, this was a fantastic book!  I give it 4/5 stars!  I can’t wait to read Fuse.

Let me know your thoughts!

