Book Review: The Selection (The Selection, #1) by Kiera Cass


The selectionTitle: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Summary: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. -Goodreads

Review:

One day, I’m checking my library account, and I see that this book is due the next day!  And that I can’t renew it.  I’ve been wanting to read The Selection for a long time, so of course, I dropped everything (I’m so sorry, Prodigy!) and picked it up.  Was it worth it?  Heck yeah!

I had no idea what to expect, but I’m always drawn to the dystopian genre.  When I realized there was a love triangle involved, I ran in the opposite direction, screaming my head off.  Then, I sheepishly crawled back to where I dropped the book and started reading again.

The Selection wasn’t as love trianglish as I’d expected, and man, oh man, were there several times when I was doubled over in laughter and slapping my thigh!  I’m, er… glad I wasn’t in public!

There were some pretty uncanny similarities to the Hunger Games that I spotted: first, in The Selection, there is an event called the Selection in which 35 girls are chosen to live in the palace so he can decide who to marry.  Well, it kinda reminded me of the Reaping.  Also, there was a man in charge of America’s wardrobe, and he was her favorite visitor.  Um, Cinna much?

And then, I swear, the makeover scene was soo similar to HG.

In contrast to Pure, The Selection was written in first person and the past tense.

I really enjoyed most of Prince Maxon and America’s conversations.  It reminded me of Pride and Prejudice a little.

I hated Aspen.  Loved Maxon.  He was just so dang funny!  HAHAHA, I was laughing so hard.

I also loved Marlee!  She was so nice to everyone and… yeah.  Nice people are awesome!  Yay!

I was sucked into the book… so much that I was surprised to find myself more than halfway through it in a little over one sitting.  Wow!!!

Funniest Lines:

“Yes, okay, he does have a funny laugh, but it’s cute.”

“Sure, if you like the lovable sound of an asthma attack in your ear every time you tell a joke.”

BWAHAHAHA!!!  I could barely type that!

For some reason, I feel the need to rate this book by category soo…

General Plot: 4/5

Comedy: 5/5

Romance: 3/5

Action: 4/5

Character Development: 3/5

Smile Factor: 4/5

I think I’m going to rate this 4/5 stars.  I look forward to reading The Elite, which is the sequel to The Selection.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection (The Selection, #1) by Kiera Cass

Let me know your thoughts!

