Book Review: Prodigy (Legend, #2) by Marie Lu


ProdigyTitle: Prodigy

Author: Marie Lu

Summary: June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action. -Goodreads

Review:

Soo… wow, this has been some journey.

I finally decided it was time to read Prodigy.  And, I’m happy to say, I was instantly drawn into it!… and then I was slowly, er… undrawn into it.  De-drawn?  Haha.  You get the point.  I stopped enjoying it.

I had to put this down for a few days to hurry and read Pure.  When I picked up Prodigy again, I was in a kind of funk because I found out that The Selection (which I’d wanted to read for forever) had to go back to the library.

So I decided I would use my super ultra reading skills and try to read The Selection.  I put Prodigy down AGAIN.  I ended up having to pay a fee for The Selection, anyway, but, hey, I got through it pretty fast.  AND it was pretty darn good!

FINALLY I returned to Prodigy… and then I put it down AGAIN to read Awesome Blossom.

Okay, so I returned to Prodigy permanently after Awesome Blossom.  I was thinking that (after I was de-drawn from Prodigy) everyone was saying this is a fantastic book… so maybe it just starts off slow.

In Legend, I was sooo happy that Day’s POV was in gold.  Well, guess what?!  Now his POV is in blue!  Blue!!!  I swear, I was so gleeful, hehe…

Tess made me feel really suspicious of June.  Like, really suspicious.  And, Tess had a crush on Day, so she’s kinda jealous… yeah.  I’d choose Tess to June any Day.  HAHA, pun intended *snicker.*

For at least a quarter of the book, while I read, I entertained myself quite nicely by popping bubble wrap and squishing packing peanuts.  Don’t ask me why; for some reason, I just needed to keep my hands moving.

Eventually the book got more and more interesting.

And then, I realized something: ANOTHER FREAKING LOVE TRIANGLE!!!  But… hmm… this one was pretty good.  I’m Team Tess, yay!  I was super happy when June and Day were fighting.  Muwahahaha, I feel so evil!

I really loved how Kaede pointed out that there’s, “No such thing as the stupid utopia you’ve been fantasizing about, Day.  Doesn’t exist.”  I think it made the fact that they were living in a dystopia more real.

There were a lot of things that happened at the end that I was pretty ticked with… but most of them I saw coming.  There was one thing that I didn’t foresee, but I wasn’t that shocked about it.

Towards the end, I realized that throughout the book, June was all, “And I can’t even argue any of his points because he’s right” when she and Day disagreed on something.  All.  The.  TIME.  It got annoying.

Then something happened in the end that I was happy about but *grumble* we all know everything will work out in the next book.  BUT, if everything doesn’t work out the way I think it will, I may just rate the next book 5 stars for that 😀

To end this review, I’d like to say that I really like this author, Marie Lu.  I remember reading somewhere that she began Legend when she was 14 years old.  And now look at it!  Legend is a published book that sooo many people have read and loved.  It’s got a high rating, and so does Prodigy.  I think that’s totally inspiring : )

On that note, I end this review!

4/5 stars.

Let me know your thoughts!

