Book Review: The Originals by Cat Patrick


The originalsTitle: The Originals

Author: Cat Patrick

Summary: 17-year-olds Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey Best grew up as identical triplets… until they discovered a shocking family secret. They’re actually closer than sisters, they’re clones. Hiding from a government agency that would expose them, the Best family appears to consist of a single mother with one daughter named Elizabeth. Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey take turns going to school, attending social engagements, and a group mindset has always been a de facto part of life…

Then Lizzie meets Sean Kelly, a guy who seems to see into her very soul. As their relationship develops, Lizzie realizes that she’s not a carbon copy of her sisters; she’s an individual with unique dreams and desires, and digging deeper into her background, Lizzie begins to dismantle the delicate balance of an unusual family that only science could have created. -Goodreads

 

Review:

Warning: Minor spoilers may occur

Wooow.  Just… wooow!  This was not what I was expecting from The Originals. 

The Originals dragged me in from literally the cover.  I mean, the three girls and the cracked mirror?  The phrase, “Three girls.  One life.”  A huge bowl of epicsauce!!!

The only other book I’ve read about human cloning was Double Identity by Margaret Peterson Haddix, and lemme tell ya, right here, right now, that book was awesome.  MIND BLOWING.  Creepy.  All in one.  How sick is that?!

The Originals was amazing.  It was funny, romantic, and suspenseful.  During the funny parts, I was trying sooo hard not to laugh.  I probably had a really weird look on my face, haha!

I can’t recall anything that bugged me about this book.  Seriously.  The ending was very nice and satisfying.  In most books, the main character would have forgiven everyone at the end, right?  Well, not in here.  I kept waiting for the forgiving to start.  Uh, yeah, it never did.

I can’t wait to read more of Cat Patrick’s books!  The Originals was insane!

5/5 stars!

**I was reading this at the same time as I was reading Prodigy.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Originals by Cat Patrick

Let me know your thoughts!

