Book Review: Coda (Coda, #1) by Emma Trevayne


CodaTitle: Coda

Author: Emma Trevayne

Summary: Ever since he was a young boy, music has coursed through the veins of eighteen-year-old Anthem—the Corp has certainly seen to that. By encoding music with addictive and mind-altering elements, the Corp holds control over all citizens, particularly conduits like Anthem, whose life energy feeds the main power in the Grid.

Anthem finds hope and comfort in the twin siblings he cares for, even as he watches the life drain slowly and painfully from his father. Escape is found in his underground rock band, where music sounds free, clear, and unencoded deep in an abandoned basement. But when a band member dies suspiciously from a tracking overdose, Anthem knows that his time has suddenly become limited. Revolution all but sings in the air, and Anthem cannot help but answer the call with the chords of choice and free will. But will the girl he loves help or hinder him? -Goodreads

 

Review:

When I read the synopsis for the book Coda, it did not at all sound interesting.  Maybe it’s just the synopsis, or the fact that nothing’s sounded interesting to you lately, I’m thinking to myself.  But, no.  It wasn’t all that interesting.

I felt like Ms. Trevayne was trying to throw too much information into the book at one time.

I did like how much music influenced this book.  There’s also… KILLER MUSIC!!!  Yes, in Coda, music can kill.  Only certain tracks, though.  It’s also a drug.

There were a few interesting twists in the end, but nothing that was really MIND SHATTERING, y’know?

I’m having some really mixed feelings about the characters, too.  They all seemed the same and I didn’t fall in love with any of them.  >.<  They also weren’t very likable in my eyes.  I suppose, if I had to choose, my favorite characters were either Haven, Mage, or Crave.

Ell reminded me of Effie Trinket (Hunger Games), except less… innocent.  You know how Effie Trinket had this really innocent quality about her?  Well, Ell wasn’t all that innocent.

And, of course, Alpha and Omega (Anthem’s younger twin brother and sister) reminded me of Prim (Hunger Games).

The ending was nice… but… this is going to be the first book I’ve ever rated…

… 1/5 stars.

Let me know your thoughts!

