Book Review: Faerie After (Bones of Faerie, #3) by Janni Lee Simner


Faerie afterTitle: Faerie After

Author: Janni Lee Simner

Summary: After a devastating war between humanity and Faerie, Liza’s world was forever changed. Plants and trees became aggressive, seeking to root in living flesh and bone, and newborn children were discovered to have magic powers. Liza was one of these children, and with her abilities she brought her mother back from the ruined Faerie realm and restored the seasons to her own.

Now there are signs of a new sickness in the forest. Piles of ash are found where living creatures once stood. Liza investigates and discovers the Faerie realm has continued to deteriorate, slowly turning to dust, and that its fate is inexorably linked to that of the human realm. To find a solution, Liza must risk crossing over, putting herself and all she cares about at risk. Will Liza be forced to sacrifice her life and the lives of her friends in order to save both worlds?

Here is the exciting conclusion to the Bones of Faerie trilogy, for fans of dark fantasy and dystopian adventure entranced by Janni Lee Simner’s unique vision of a magic-infused post-apocalyptic world. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Minor spoilers may lie ahead**

I’ve been waiting to read this book since last year!  So finally, I pre-ordered it from my library and waited for it to be published.  And waited.  And waited.  And waited.  When I received it, I was so excited!  It’s been sitting in my library pile for a few weeks, so I figured it was time to get on with the show.

I read Bones of Faerie and Faerie Winter, the first and second installments in the series some time last year and the details were very muddled.  I had gotten a copy of Faerie Winter from the library and flipped through it to make sure I read it (which I did).

I’ve really enjoyed this series.  It’s so beautifully written.  It seems to be written in the old times, and yet it’s post-apocalyptic.  This book is a mixture of so many things, I can’t even begin to describe it.

Faerie After–actually, the whole series–was beautifully written.  My favorite was probably Bones of Faerie, now that I think of it, though.

It did take a while for me to get into the book, but after I passed that, I was very into it and had a hard time putting it down.

Allie kinda reminded me of Tess from Legend by Marie Lu.  Both are young healers who seem fragile but are far from it.

In the last book, Elin, I remember, was evil and made Liza’s friends to very… disturbing things to themselves.  *Shudder*  But, in this book, she was actually helping Liza and her friends.  I was very happy that Elin was a good guy for once.

I hope to read more of Ms. Simner’s books : )

4/5 stars.

Let me know your thoughts!

