Book Review: Stormbreaker (Alex Rider, #1) by Anthony Horowitz


StormbreakerTitle: Stormbreaker

Author: Anthony Horowitz

Summary: They told him his uncle died in a car accident. Fourteen-year-old Alex knows that’s a lie, and the bullet holes in his uncle’s windshield confirm his suspicions. But nothing prepares him for the news that the uncle he always thought he knew was really a spy for MI6–Britain’s top secret intelligence agency. Recruited to find his uncle’s killers and complete his final mission, Alex suddenly finds himself caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse.

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoliers**

Wow.

So… I don’t know what I was expecting from this books, but honestly, this… this wasn’t it.  It just wasn’t it.  It wasn’t IT.

Let’s start with the cover.  Do you see that cover up there?  That’s the copy I received.  The cover is very bland-looking.  Like… it looks homemade!  So, yeah.  Didn’t like the cover.

I wasn’t too into Stormbreaker at first, but after a while, it began to interest me.  There were times when it was really interesting, and times when I considered dropping it.

The tools in this book were pretty cool, though!  A yo-yo that can help you climb and an acidic acne cream that eats through metal!  So bad… I wanted that.

I found that Horowitz’s writing style was really foreign to me.  It seemed different in some way.

I think that this book would have been really excellent if it was written in first person instead of third person.  It seemed really formal and… I don’t know, maybe even a little unfriendly.

I felt like there was a lot of weapon description.  Maybe even too much.  It’s like clothing descriptions.  They really get to me, and so did these weapon descriptions.  I mean do you really think I care about what the gun is called?  Really?  Seriously?

As I got deeper into the books, I wondered if Alex Rider would be like Harry Potter, where they’re going after one villain, or if it would be a different villain in each book.

Also, I was wondering if there’d be any, uh, ROMANCE in the books?!?!?  I mean, there was NO romance, at all!  I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where there was absolutely NO ROMANCE.

I don’t recall ever laughing while reading this book.  Never.  Nada.

And ya wanna know why the bad guy is a bad guy?  Why he’s being evil?  All because of the boy who bullied him in school.  DIDN’T SEE THAT COMING!  I found that so incredibly… stupid!  So he wanted to take revenge (because that boy grew up to be the prime minister).  So he decides, “Hey, you know what would be fun?  Killing off all the school children in England!  Yeah, what a brilliant idea!  Let’s do that!”

At the end, Alex was offered a ride home by M16, but he had to be stubborn because they mentioned needing him again.  So, of course, something happens.  If I were him, I would’ve said, “Yes, flipping, YES!” to a ride home.  Which is why I wouldn’t last two seconds in the Hunger Games 😀

But what happened at the end really astonished me.  Yassen Gregorovich was all calm and cool and collected.  He just shot Sayle (evil dude) in front of Alex.  YASSEN KILLED ALEX’S UNCLE AND WHEN ALEX CONFRONTED HIM, HE WAS ALL, “Yeah, I’ve killed a lot of people.  Big whoop!”  And then he got in his fancy pants helicopter and took off.  Oh, and get this:  HE FREAKING WAVED GOODBYE TO ALEX!!!

The ending made me suspicious of Alan Blunt too.. whenever people say, “Oh, it’s probably nothing,” it’s always something.  ALWAYS!!!

2.5/5 stars

Let me know your thoughts!

