Book Review: Delirium (Delirium, #1) by Lauren Oliver


Delirium 2Title: Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver

Summary: Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I tried reading Delirium a little while ago.  I don’t know why I stopped it.  I wasn’t into it?  Nooo idea.  BUT.  I decided to give it another go.  Yay!  And lemme tell ya, it was pretty dang awesome!

In the beginning, it was pretty plain.  Okay, good.  It kinda had a Matched (Ally Condie) feel, if you know what I mean.  The activities they did were more realistic like going to school and college and having barbecues, and taking runs…

Delirium is written in Lena’s POV and in present tense, like a lot of dystopian tales.

I thought it was pretty cool that the book was based in the United States and not some fictional territory in who-knows-where on the globe.

And, of course, in every dystopian book where the main character thinks they live in the “perfect society,” there’s always that rebellious friend.  In this case, her name is Hana.  EXCEPT, Hana’s all talk.  She’s all, “Oh, Lena, you’re not brave enough to go to all the illegal parties with me,” and then when Lena’s all, “Come with us to the Wilds,” Hana’s all, “But I can’t!”  NOW who’s the scared one?  HA!

OMG Hana’s like Peris from Pretties (Scott Westerfield).  ‘Cause he was all, “Oh yeah, we’re going to the New Smoke,” and come time to jump out of the air balloon thingy, he freaking chickened out!

Check out my list of rebellious friends!

  • Uglies: Shay
  • Legend: June and Day
  • The Selection: If I remember correctly… was it Aspen?  UGH.  I DON’T REMEMBER!!!
  • The Hunger Games: Gale
  • Matched: Ky

And you know how it goes >.<

This particular line had me cracking up: “A world without fear?  Impossible.”  Why did I find the line so amusing?  Watch a couple episodes of Monk.  Then come back 😀

Grace was a very interesting character.  I have a feeling she’ll grow as a character in the next books.  Or she’ll die.

The stuff that was revealed wasn’t THAT shocking.

Toward then end, after Lena finds out the BIG SECRET, she was so totally OVERLY DRAMATIC, like, “She left me, and she didn’t even care about me, no one cares about me!!!

IN ANY EVENT, Oliver did a marvelous job ending the book.  It was unexpected and she literally packed it with action until the very last page.

I remember finishing Delirium and I seriously said, “Wha… wha… What?”  I couldn’t believe it.

4.5/5 stars!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium (Delirium, #1) by Lauren Oliver

Let me know your thoughts!

