Book Review: The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2) by Cinda Williams Chima


The exiled queenTitle: The Exiled Queen

Author: Cinda Williams Chima

Summary: Haunted by the loss of his mother and sister, Han Alister journeys south to begin his schooling at Mystwerk House in Oden’s Ford.   But leaving the Fells doesn’t mean that danger isn’t far behind.  Han is hunted every step of the way by the Bayars, a powerful wizarding family set on reclaiming the amulet Han stole from them.  And Mystwerk House has dangers of its own.  There, Han meets Crow, a mysterious wizard who agrees to tutor Han in the darker parts of sorcery—but the bargain they make is one Han may regret.

Meanwhile, Princess Raisa ana’Marianna runs from a forced marriage in the Fells, accompanied by her friend Amon and his triple of cadets.  Now, the safest place for Raisa is Wein House, the military academy at Oden’s Ford.  If Raisa can pass as a regular student, Wein House will offer both sanctuary and the education Raisa needs to succeed as the next Gray Wolf queen.

Everything changes when Han and Raisa’s paths cross, in this epic tale of uncertain friendships, cut-throat politics, and the irresistible power of attraction. -Goodreads

Review:

***Warning: There might be minor spoilers…***

The Exiled Queen was written in third person, alternating between a few of the characters’ POVs, but mainly Han and Raisa’s.

I really liked The Demon King, the first book in the Seven Realms series, so I finally got the second installment to the series.  I wasn’t planning on ordering it, because I already had so many holds, but it was just sitting on the shelf… so I got it!

Unfortunately, I kept putting The Exiled Queen down because I was being distracted by other books, heheh…

I’ve hat this book for more than a month, I think.  It’s overdue, I know, but I couldn’t bear the thought of returning it when I wasn’t even finished with it!  So I read on.

As it is with most books, it took a while for me to get into The Exiled Queen.  But things picked up very soon.

I couldn’t help but draw several comparisons between this book and Harry Potter.  It was just too uncanny.  It just was very reminiscent to HP:

The Waterlow Amulet was the Elder Wand–the magical something or other that everyone wanted to get their hands on.

Han was Harry, Dancer was Ron, Cat was something like a Hermione.  Willo was Molly Weasley.  The Bayars were the Malfoys.  Micah Bayar’s cousins were Crabbe and Goyle.  Fiona, Micah’s twin sister, kind of reminded me of Hermione, too, but only a tiny, tiny, tiny, tiny, tiny, tiny bit.  Bluebloods are basically pure bloods, and the copperheads are basically Muggle-borns.

Now!  Enough with the negative, let’s move on to the positive!

I really grew to like Cat Tyburn, who was like Han’s right-hand woman when Han was the streetlord of the Raggers, a gang in… ack, I don’t remember.  Locations here are really confusing.  Anyway, in the last book, when Han left the Raggers, Cat took his place as streetlord.

I thought the relationship between Cat and Dancer was so adorable and awkward-like!  I love adorable and awkward-like relationships!

I’d really like to know what century this book is based in.  I feel like it was based a long time ago, though.

Han, Micah, or Amon?  WHO???

That was what was in my notes.  Now, it’s Han or Amon?  I hate Micah.  Despise him, actually.  Loathe, blah, blah, blah… I’m running out of synonyms.  😀

That’s me trying to figure out who Raisa is going to be with at the end of all this chaos.  I highly doubt it’s going to be Micah or Amon, so that leaves Han!  Or maybe I’m biased.  ‘Cause I really like Han.  😄

Favorite Lines:

(This one reminded me of Lydia and Kitty from Pride and Prejudice.):

She wasn’t flighty Missy Hakkam, mooning over every officer in a uniform, dreaming of marriages to foppish nobles with big palaces and tiny brains.

(I just thought this one was hilarious!):

Crow gazed at Han for a long moment, as if trying to look through his skin.  “I’ve underestimated you,” he said finally, shaking his head.

“it’s a common problem,” Han replied.  “Especially with bluebloods.”

(And this one had a Fuse feel to it.):

The doorway was blocked by a heap of smoking corpses.

In the end, I give this book just barely made it to 4/5 stars.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to read the next one soon!

Let me know your thoughts!

