Book Review: Fallen (Fallen, #1) by Lauren Kate


FallenTitle: Fallen

Author: Lauren Kate

Summary: There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, FALLEN is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

Review:

**Warning: Possible minor spoilers**

I’ve heard of Fallen, but I don’t recall seeing many good reviews on it.  Anyway, for some reason, I decided to get it from my library, without any knowledge on the book, whatsoever.

When I got it, I read the inside flap: “There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.”  Isn’t that like Evermore (Alyson Noel)?  Or Elixir (Hilary Duff)?  Anyway, as I read the flap, I wasn’t quite sure what genre in which this book was categorized, aside from the obvious romance, of course.

So, I started to read.  (Sometimes when I read this, I listened to the Evanescence radio station on Pandora, and that made it a little better.)  It reminded me of The Book of Spells (Kate Brian).  Maybe it was just the boarding school aspect… but the boarding school in Fallen was in New Hampshire, and I think the boarding school in The Book of Spells was also in New Hampshire… I don’t know.

So Daniel Grigori… He was just a/an (insert choice of word).  I don’t know what was so appealing about him!  And why does every attractive male character have “high cheekbones?!”  I- You don’t know how many times I have run-ins, in books, with high cheekbones.  Doesn’t it annoy you?!  It annoys me.  *.*

I found it very hard to get into this book.  I was seriously thinking about rereading New Moon (Stephenie Meyer) rather than continuing with this.  Even at page 116–NOTHING HAD HAPPENED!!!

Let’s talk about Lucinda “Luce,” our main character and protagonist.  She.  Was.  Worse. Than.  BELLA!!!  She annoyed me every time she opened her mouth.  It seemed like she was always moping and feeling sorry for herself.

Luce was yet another desperate main female character with absolutely no backbone.  She was literally stalking Daniel, because she was, like, obsessed with him, despite the fact that when they first met, he flipped her off.  Yeah.  Talk about desperate.  She was SO STUPID, TOO!!!

At one point, Cam, another boy at the reform school, asked Luce to meet him at the school gates, right?  He then left a note saying a black car would be there to pick her up.

Now, if someone had left a note like that for me, especially a boy I barely know, I.  WOULD.  NOT.  GO!!!  I would run in the opposite direction.  But, nooo!  She just had to go.

One thing I did understand with Luce was her awkwardness with everyone at the pool.  Like, she’s the new girl in a group of people who have known each other for years.  I’d feel awkward, too.

Moving on…

Molly, who’s apparently an “evil chick,” was just some girl who needed all the attention on her, so she’d be snarky to achieve that.  However, she did manage to get creepier, the more I read.

Arriane was like the girl who was nice to you when she needed something, but then dumped you for someone else.  That’s how I took her in at first, but she did become something more, so I was a bit happy about that.

I think I liked Penn, though.  She’s, like, the only person I liked in the book.

I thought I liked Miss Sophia, but it turns out, I don’t.  >.<

THE IDEA:

I’ve seen the whole “reincarnated” thing before.  With Evermore and Elixir.  It kinda gets boring after a while.

Me at page 140: Please, won’t something happen, already?!

Me at page 160: All that’s happened so far are the spooooooooky shadows.  *makes half-hearted ghost noises*

Me at page 202: Now it’s getting a bit interesting.  Finally.

The words “linoleum floor” were overused in this book.  It got to me.

For some odd reason, I found the ending rather comical.  I couldn’t stop giggling!

But, oh my God!  Something happened toward the end of the book and I was like… I was frozen and my eyes were wide and I was just so shocked!  What had happened was seriously unexpected.  I don’t know whether to hate Lauren Kate for doing that, or to applaud her for making me never see it coming.  I don’t know whether my rating of the book should be increased because it was so unpredictable or decreased because I hate that it happened.

In the end, I’m rating Fallen 1/5 stars.  Yes–I did begin to like the book a bit, but it was only after I’d read more than 200 pages of the book!  It should not take that long for a book to kick into action.

**********

On a more cheery note, I received House of Hades yesterday!  Yay!!!  I’m reading it now and so far, it’s… it’s… everything I dreamed of… and more!

Let me know your thoughts!

