Book Review: Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra Clare – Part 1


Clockwork princessTitle: Clockwork Princess

Author: Cassandra Clare

Summary: Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shaodwhunters of the London Institute.

A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

Review:

**WARNING: This review is going to be mega spoilery.  It’s not suitable for those who intend to read the series.  BUT!  If you’ve already read the book, then come on!  You may proceed normally!  Well… actually, you probably should read with caution, ’cause this review is going to be an emotional whirlwind.  :D**

Note: This review was typed and posted three months after the book was read, however, the notes taken on this book were written during the time I read it.  Feel free to correct me in the comments if I’ve gotten a name or a fact wrong–I’m sure I’ll do that somewhere in this vast review!  I’m also splitting this review into two parts because it’s really long…

**********

AHHH!!!  SQUEE!!!  IT’S HEREEEEEEE!!!

After quite a long wait, I finally received Clockwork Princess from my library.  I noticed that the more I read Cassandra Clare’s work, the more I like it!  This is the book that really earned my respect for Ms. Clare as an author.  It was fantastic and beautiful and I can’t wait to talk about it with you!

Clockwork Princess stirred a lot of emotions in me.  In this review, you’ll get an “insight” of my emotions in chronological order!

This book was the best in the series, in my opinion.  Cassandra Clare totally and completely outdid herself.

Clockwork Princess was my saving grace.  It pulled me from my reading slump and was the only book that really piqued my interest during this difficult reading slumpish time.  I seriously don’t recall EVER going through that phase where, like, nothing’s happening and I’m so freaking bored.  Nope.  Not in Clockwork Princess.

After I finished this, I really needed to gather my thoughts, which were all jumbled on five pieces of lined paper, waiting to be shared.

Even after I finished CP, I would pick up another book but thought, “Ooh, I have more to add to my CP notes!”

Now, I usually–no, never–use five flipping pieces of paper when I’m taking notes.  The max is three, but never has it been five.  So this is kind of a big deal!  I filled in the margin and… just… the WHOLE page of almost every page I used is filled to the brim with my feels…

Clockwork Princess was mind blowing.  Just… well, mind blowing!  I kid you not.  The characters all had depth and their own special qualities, which I think Cassandra Clare did an excellent job with.  This book was packed with emotion and action and romance.  It was incredible (warning: I don’t know how many times I’ll say, “This book was amazing” or “This book was incredible.”)

CP was also heartbreaking.  I think I could have cried, but I didn’t.  It was so terrible (not in a bad way) and I wanted to scream my head off like, “Why?  Whyyy?!” and drop to my knees and bury my face in my hands.

At times when I was reading, I would be literally shaking.  No lie!  I was shaking!  It was just amazing!  The action, the romance, everything was just perfect.

If you haven’t already picked up this series, seriously.  It’s fantastic.  Clockwork Princess totally tied the Infernal Devices together beautifully.

(I’m going to try a different format for this review, just to keep my brain from exploding.)

POVs

Clockwork Princess was written in third person, but in several characters’ POVs.

Characters/Shipping

In this book, I really came to appreciate Will’s sarcastic wit.  If there’s one thing I love about a character, it’s their witty and bold personality.  Will definitely hit the mark!  And, well, I love sarcastic people.  (And, yes, I qualify as a sarcastic person!)

Will and Jem are probably my favorite characters.  Well, maybe Will more than Jem.  I think it’s mostly because of Will’s sense of humor, though.  He’s absolutely hysterical!  (I’ll probably have some examples of this deeper in the review.)

Jem was such a sweetie, though…

I don’t think Tessa has ever been my favorite character.  She was alright, y’know?

At first, I didn’t know who to ship.  Wessa (Will/Tessa) or Jessa (Jem/Tessa)?!  I was pondering this for a really long time, but I finally decided on… Wessa.  Who do you ship?

Ugh.  I HATED Woolsey!!!  He annoyed me sooo much!  Gahh…

I really, really loved Gideon Lightwood!  He was so sweet to Sophie.  One of my favorite parts between those two was when Sophie caught Gideon and Gabriel reading Charlotte’s letters and when she read what the boys were going to send to the Consul (who I loathed)… oh, gods… It was so… *chortles*… FUNNY!

In Clockwork Princess, I did notice something and it was just kind of hard not to compare it to Harry Potter.  Benedict Lightwood was like Lucius Malfoy.  He was the guy kissing up to the bad guy trying to get back in his good graces.  And Gabriel Lightwood was like Draco.  He was the son who easily caved because Daddy told him to do something.  He was loyal to his father at first, but his alliances switched in due time… Gabriel’s heart was divided, though, kind of like Draco’s: he didn’t really know whose side to be on.

The Consul… Consul Wayland was just… Gah.  I hated him.  But I could totally imagine Alan Rickman playing the Consul.  In fact, his face and voice were in my mind ever time I read his dialogue.

Anyway, I thought the Consul was a good guy!  It turns out he was just a manipulative bully.

Jessamine has been annoying me since the first book, Clockwork Angel.  She never wanted to be a Shadowhunter and always… I don’t know, scoffed at it.  I think Jessamine was Isabelle’s (TMI) equivalent, but Izzy actually embraced being a Shadowhunter.  And Jessamine was just a traitor.  Forget you.

Storylines/Battles/Plotlines/Feels/Etc.

Okay, so the first real battle… Well, it kind of reminded me of a scene from one of my Mario & Luigi DS games.  Not in a bad way or anything!  And, in the book’s defense, it probably reminded me of my DS game because I’d been hanging with the DS all weekend.

Anyway, they were after Gideon (*swoon*) and Gabriel’s father… Benedict was his name, right?  Yes, I think so.  Anyway, he’d gotten the demon pox!  And, by the Angel, I’m pretty sure Will had one of his many songs about the demon pox lined up for this occasion!

This is one of the rare books I’ve read where one of the most main characters dies.  I know… I know… Wasn’t it sad?  It was just… Sad.  R.I.P. Jem.

I’ve never had good luck with Cassandra Clare’s books: Somehow I always read spoilers.  I read spoilers about City of Bones and City of Glass and I, somewhere, somehow, read a spoiler… telling me that Jem was to die in this book.

Wha… What?

So NOW it was a matter of time.  WHEN was he going to die?  It was so excruciating, because in this book, Jem’s health problems increased terribly due to Mortmain buying all the yin fen.  And when Will put his hands in the fire to get the drug when Jem threw it in… OHMYSWEETGOODNESS (that’s Emma’s mantra from Of Poseidon, haha!)!

So, basically every time Jem coughed, I was like, “OMG, this is it–he’s going to die right here, right now.”  THANK YOU SPOILERY PEOPLE!  I appreciated that.  Really, I did.  >.<

Remember that part where Will shouted, “She is my priority!”  OMG, I melted!  I was all, “Eeeeeeek!  Wessa forever!”

There were a lot of “oh my goodness” moments.

Ooh, you want to know what I loved?  When something so amazingly BIG happened at the end of the chapter, Cassandra Clare didn’t suddenly switch POVs on me and make me wait another three POVs before I could figure out what had happened.  I love her for that!

And when Jem figured out that Will loved Tessa… that was really sad… I was like, “Okay.  You need to breathe.  Okay?  Can you please remember to do that?”

Favorite Lines:

“A book had been open on her lap for several hours, but she had not been able to concentrate on it.  Her eyes skidded over the words on the pages without absorbing them, and she would often find that she was pausing to try to remember who a character was or why they were doing what they were doing.”  I think I liked this line because I could relate.  I do often do that, especially when I find a book boring…
______________________________________________________________

This is the end of Part 1 of my review.  I hope that isn’t too long.  Y’all get a cupcake if you’re still reading!  Yay!

I still have three more pages to type.  I hope you enjoyed this!  It may seem… unfinished… but this review was so overwhelming and it’s cut into two, so… yeah.  Bye!

Let me know your thoughts!

