Book Review: Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1) by Richelle Mead


BloodlinesTitle: Bloodlines

Author: Richelle Mead

Summary: Blood doesn’t lie…

Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty – a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning… -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I’ve heard of Richelle Mead and have heard some wonderful things about her books, so I decided to pick up Bloodlines, which is the first book in the spinoff (it is the spinoff, right?) series to Vampire Academy.  Now, I haven’t read any VA, but maybe I should, though I had no problem following the book.

Dudes–THIS BOOK LIVED UP TO THE HYPE!!!  I absolutely devoured this book, however, wasn’t too crazy about the cover.  By the way, who’s the guy with Sydney?  Is it Keith?

Anyway, the book was funny and awesome.  It definitely wasn’t what I’d expected, in a good way, though!  It will suck you in and spit you out.  You’ll be left saying, “I need the next book.  Like now.”  Haha!  (Speaking of the next book, it’s available for me at my library.  Yes!)

I began reading Bloodlines after I finished Allegiant, and I had a really difficult time getting over it, so when I read the Bloodlines book flap and saw the word “alliance,” I thought “allegiance” and, well… I got all sad and sulky.

Anyway, once I got past my sulky self, I picked up the book and read.  It did start off rather slowly, but I had patience, seeing as this was my first Richelle Mead book.

Let’s talk characters.

I really hated Sydney’s father.  He was so frustrating!  He was always kissing up to someone–he was worse than Lucius Malfoy!  And Keith was like Draco, even down to his gelled back blonde hair!  Lol!

Zoe… Okay, I understood where her anger came from, but because we were reading from her sister, Sydney’s POV, we could obviously see that Sydney was trying to protect her little sis!

Adrian… Heheh… Oh, Adrian.  I love you so much.  ‘Nuff said.

Just kidding!  Let’s talk about Adrian.  I (obviously) loved him.  He kind of reminded me of Magnus Bane (TMI).  I think their personalities were similar.  But he was just… *swoon*  Hilarious and moody, sometimes and… Yeah.

There were all these little things that were hinted at in the beginning, but were never really explained.  So that kind of kept me reading during the slow start.  Or, maybe everything is explained in VA.

There was something that annoyed me, though.  So, at one point of the book when Sydney was getting her uniform, she was freaking out because she had to wear a size 4 uniform rather than a size 2.  Oh, the horror!  A size 4!  How big!  Seriously, she was always trying to have a vampire’s body.  Dieting and whatnot.  So yeah.  I did roll my eyes at that.

One of my favorite parts was when this guy at the school was asking Sydney if she wanted to go to a silent film festival thing, and she hadn’t realized the guy was trying to ask her out, so she was all, “No, I don’t like silent films.”  So the guy was all, “Are there any movies you’d like to see?”  And Sydney was like, “No, thank you.”  BAHAHA!!!  And then a girl in her class was all, “Dude, that was so funny,” and she explained it to Sydney and… yeah… Just read it.  Pp. 229-230.

Favorite Lines:

“They’re waiting for you.  Go on in.”  Adrian leaned close to Keith’s ear and spoke in an ominous voice.  “If.  You.  Dare.”  He poked Keith’s shoulder and gave a “Muhahaha” kind of monster laugh.

OMG, I was laughing SO hard.  Which is what I needed at that time.  (I was mad that I lost my notes for the Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers.  I made a big deal out of losing them… and then I found them under my keyboard.  Smooth.)

~

“I go to college in LA, but my schedule’s just part-time this semester.  So, I want to try to spend more time with Dad.”

Abe glanced at Rose.  “You see that?” he said.  “Now that’s devotion.”  She rolled her eyes at him.

~

I had a feeling that there was really no good way for Lee to answer at this point.  If he expressed interest in her, Adrian’s bizarre chivalric instincts were going to kick in.  If Lee wasn’t interested, Adrian would no doubt demand to know why Lee didn’t want to marry her then and there.  It was one of those fascinating–but weird–quirks of Adrian’s personality.

Heheh… 😀

So, lemme brief ya: Bloodlines was a magnificent book!  It did start off slowly, but it really took off.  I loved the characters (can you guess who my favorite is?  Ten points to you if you said Adrian), they were really funny, the book was really funny.  In the end, I was on page 167 and finished the rest of the book in a day–that’s 421 pages!  I haven’t read that many pages in a day in a long time.

5/5 stars.  I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one!

Let me know your thoughts!

