Book Review: Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


ObsidianTitle: Obsidian

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Summary: Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

First, let me say how awesome my reading schedule has been!  I’d start a book one day, finish it the next day, start another book on that same day, and finish it the next day, etc.  And it’s been like this for a few weeks, now!  It feels great to be reading a lot every day and not just one or two pages a day.

Here’s where things got weird: I read this right after I finished Of Triton, whose main character lost her father to cancer.  Then I started Obsidian, pretty much less than a minute after finishing Of Triton (I carry two books with me every day), and Obsidian’s main character lost her father… to cancer.

And it gets weirder.  In Of Poseidon, Emma fell for Galen, who has a twin sister.  In Obsidian, Katy fell for Daemon, who, surprise, surprise, has a twin sister!  Isn’t that hilarious?

Okay!  On to the review!

I haven’t heard too much about this book, but I have heard of it.  Here’s the story of how we met: I was looking around the YA section for a good read when I saw Obsidian sitting on the shelf.  I didn’t read the synopsis or anything–the reason I picked it up was because I’d heard of it.  Backwards, right?  But, to me, if something looks interesting at the library, I’ll check it out, no questions asked.

When I got home to read it, I was a bit tentative to read it because, well, I’ve never read a book featuring aliens, so this was a new and foreign experience for me.  I was unsure about it, but a review from Mundie Moms says, “If Daemon and Jace (Mortal Instruments Series) were to battle it out, it would be a close call on which character would win.”  And that is what piqued my interest (we all love Jace).

The only other book I know of featuring aliens would be I Am Number Four, which was also mentioned in a featured review of Obsidian.  I saw the movie (it was alright–I’m not quick to judge a book by its movie adaptation) and I hope to read the book sometime soon.

But back to the whole Daemon/Jace comment?  DUDE!  I can’t believe I’m saying this, but Daemon would win that battle in three seconds!  I absolutely loved Daemon.  He was so moody and witty and funny and… well, yeah.  I love all of the verbal battles in this book.  They were so awesomely written.

Anywho, I was laughing hysterically by page nine.  BAHAHA!!!  Daemon was pretty reminiscent of Jace, but Daemon’s in a class of his own.  I stopped drawing comparisons between Jace and Daemon pretty quickly because I was laughing so darn hard I could barely even think.

But!  I was hooked on this book from the second sentence:

Not being able to do anything with my review blog since moving here was like missing an arm or leg.  According to my mom, “Katy’s Krazy Obsession” was my whole life.  Not entirely, but it was important to me.  She didn’t get books the way I did.  HAHAHA!!!  So, bonus points to having a relatable main character–and a main character who blogs about books.

Let’s talk a bit about Katy.  If I ever met her, I’d say, “Can we be best friends?!?”  She’s very, very relatable.  She wore a shirt that said, “My blog is better than your vlog” and would “rather read a book and stalk my blog comments” than mingle with kids she’d never met.

I liked Dee, too!  She seemed like a great friend 😀

You have no idea how lucky I feel to have picked up such an AMAZING book.  I strongly recommend it–it’s funny, witty, romantic, relatable but is still definitely fantasy, and I love the love/hate relationship between Katy and Daemon.

My only complaint is the funny lookin’ cover.

5/5 stars!  This book was absolutely incredible!  I’ve already read Onyx, the second book in the series, so I can’t wait for Opal!  I’m also psyched to pick up some more of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books 😀

P.S. I know I’m writing up quite a few posts a day–I’m in a book reviewing mood so I figured I’d better take advantage of the awesome mood!

Let me know your thoughts!

