Book Review: Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy, #2) by Anna Banks


Of tritonTitle: Of Triton

Author: Anna Banks

Summary: In this sequel to OF POSEIDON, Emma has just learned that her mother is a long-lost Poseidon princess, and now struggles with an identity crisis: As a Half-Breed, she’s a freak in the human world and an abomination in the Syrena realm below. Syrena law states that all Half- Breeds should be put to death.

As if that’s not bad enough, her mother’s reappearance among the Syrena turns the two kingdoms—Poseidon and Triton—against one another. Which leaves Emma with a decision to make: Should she comply with Galen’s request to keep herself safe and just hope for the best? Or should she risk it all and reveal herself—and her Gift—to save a people she’s never known? -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I actually read about half of this a few months ago (July 17 is when I gave it back to the library) but I didn’t read it fast enough and had to return it.  But!  I found it on a shelf on the YA section, so I went ahead and picked it up.

Unfortunately, I have no idea where my first review of the book is, so I started freshly–I started the book all over again and started a nice, new review (three whole pages of notes!).

First, let’s talk about the cover.  I think the covers on both of the books in this series were really nice.  I really liked the font that “Of Triton” was typed in on the cover.  (I just saw the cover for Of Neptune.  It’s GORGEOUS!  At least, that’s what I think -.-)

Now, for the people… I suppose the girl on the cover looks alright for Emma.  She’s just not really who I imagined.

And the guy who’s supposed to be Galen?  No-No!  No way!  Just get OFF THE COVER!  You’re ALL WRONG!

But, ahem, despite my feelings on the people, I think the cover was fantastic, though the Of Triton cover was kind of one of those covers that you’re not entirely comfortable flaunting.  ‘Cause… Well… They’re making out.

OMG–ya wanna know what this cover reminds me of?!  Percy and Annabeth’s underwater kiss in The Last Olympian!!!  Because Percy has dark hair, and Annabeth has blonde hair and it was underwater and… she… and he… Oh, the feels!

Ahem, anyway.  This book was a really short read.  With a total of 246 pages, it’s not my average length, but it packed a huge punch and I enjoyed it immensely.  It was a fun, fast-paced read, though at times I’d lose interest and think about reading one of the other books I had with me >.<

Of Triton was written in two POVs: Emma and Galen’s.  Emma’s was written in first person and Galen’s in third.  I wished that Galen’s had been written in first, too, because I feel like third person keeps you at arm’s length from the character and his thoughts and I did, in fact, feel a larger distance between Galen and myself than Emma and myself.  Or maybe I’m just being weird, haha!

But, Galen’s POV was boring when he wasn’t with Emma.  And I didn’t really understand what Emma saw in him.  Did she like him because he was hot?  Was that all?

The book was also written in present tense.  I think I mentioned this in my review for Of Poseidon.  It took some getting used to, because I’m usually only used to reading sci-fi and dystopian in present tense.  (My notes were taken a few weeks ago, so this statement technically isn’t valid, because I’ve been reading more and more books written in present tense.)

Let’s talk characters!

Emma’s mom was really scary in this book.  Scary to the max, man.  It was freaky.  Especially the whole, ah, kidnapping.  But she was also pretty funny!  When Emma asked her mom how she met her dad, her mom was all, “Oh, yeah.  I mugged him.  No biggie!”  Well, maybe not in those exact words, but you get the gist.

Grom was really cool and I enjoyed reading more about him.  I did sympathize with Emma when she saw her mother all over this dude, because she felt like it was a betrayal to her father, who died of cancer.  I especially felt bad when Emma found out that her parents never loved each other and that she was just an… accident.

Let’s talk about Emma’s deceased BFF, Chloe.  I feel like her death should have played more into the story and that Emma should have, oh, I don’t know, grieved more maybe?  I never say that things that happen in books are unnecessary, but… well… I kind of found Chloe’s death rather unnecessary.  Oh, but her name’s tossed into the mix every once in a while.

In fact, Emma even thought, “Did I not grieve long enough for her?”  No, chickadee, you didn’t.

Rachel is my favorite character.  She was so awesome!  She was Galen’s assistant or something.  She used to be in the Mafia.  And, as usual, because she was my favorite character, she was doomed to death.  Nice.  But seriously, I was so sad.

Toraf and Rayna were awesome in this book, too.  But when I thought he’d betrayed Emma, Galen, and Rayna, I literally stabbed my notes with my pen.  Yeah…

Favorite Lines:

Of course Rachel found us.  Being an ex-mobster makes you a Swiss Army Knife of Skills People Shouldn’t Know.

~

“Well, that officially ended our date, to say the least.  But more than that, it meant I had to leave the boardwalk.  I couldn’t risk him blowing my cover–though, when I think about it, I’m not sure how he would have proved it–but I didn’t have the resources to leave on my own.  So I pulled a gun on him and demanded his wallet.”

The soda in my mouth becomes the soda in my nose  “You had a gun?”  I cough and sputter into my napkin.

Mom’s eyes go round and she presses her fingers to her lips, mouthing, “Shhh!”

“Where did you get a gun?” I hiss.

“Oliver lent it to me.  He was always looking out for me.  Told me to shoot first and run.  He said the asking-questions-later part was for the police.”  She grins at my expression.  “Does that earn me cool points?”

I swirl a fry in the mound of ketchup on my plate.  “You want cool points for pulling a gun on my father?”  I say it with all the appropriate disdain and condescension it deserves, but deep down, we both know she gets mega cool points for it.

~

The “fishy cuss words” as Emma would put it, were so adorable!  Like “Triton’s trident!” or “Poseidon’s beard!”  Ha.  Ha ha… 

In the end, I’ve decided to rate Of Triton 4/5 stars.  I’m excited for Of Neptune!

P.S. Was the title of the series changed?  I thought the series was called Of Poseidon, but according to Goodreads, it’s called The Syrena Legacy.  Huh.

Let me know your thoughts!

