Book Review: The Summoning (Sisters of Isis, #1) by Lynne Ewing


The summoning 2Title: The Summoning

Author: Lynne Ewing

Summary: Following the incredible success of “Daughters of the Moon,” Lynne Ewing has created an all new fun and hip teen fantasy series.
Based in Egyptian mythology and set in modern-day Washington, D.C., Sisters of Isis follows the lives of Meri, Sudi, and Dalila, three fifteen-year-old girls who have just discovered they are descendants of very powerful ancestors-Egyptian pharaohs. From these ancestors they’ve inherited magical powers of transformation, the ability to cast spells from the Book of Thoth, and, as they will soon learn, the responsibility of protecting the world from the evil forces of Chaos. -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I hope the picture isn’t bigger or smaller than usual–I couldn’t find any good ones when doing a regular Internet search in Images, so I took this picture from Goodreads, and it started off GINORMOUS!  I had to edit the size with the WordPress editor thingy.

I’ve never read the Goodreads summary, and I can’t help but snort at the “fun and hip” part.  Sorry!!!

This book is actually one of my very rare rereads, because I really wanted to pick up the series again (I love books about mythology).  I read The Summoning a little over a year ago when I was first getting into YA.  It’s got some Egyptian mythology thrown in (thanks, Rick Riordan, for helping me recognize some gods/goddesses names with the help of the Kane Chronicles :D).  I’m pretty into Egyptian mythology.  I really enjoyed Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles, and I watched the first two seasons of Nickelodeon’s “House of Anubis,” (we all remember Anubis, you Kane Chronicle fans 😉 ).  I stopped watching the show as I got a little into the third season because it was pretty obvious that they were just trying to drag it out for as long as possible.  Two of the main characters left and it was just… No.  I couldn’t.

Anyway, reading this book totally made me want to go back and reread the Kane Chronicles all over again.  Maybe they’ll be on my Winter Break Reading Challenge 😀

I was always so proud of myself when I recognized a name or something.

The Summoning is a quick read.  It had 263 pages and overall it was enjoyable!

Let’s talk about the actual, physical book.  The cover is gorgeous.  This picture really doesn’t do the book justice.  The color scheme was beautiful and I loved the size of the book, too.  It was so… compact.

I have a weird relationship with the main character, Sudi.  At first, I liked her, but then I realized she was always trying too hard and always trying to steal someone’s boyfriend.  Bah.  I did like that she wasn’t all that naïve.  She didn’t believe Abdel when he told her she was the descendent of an Egyptian pharaoh.  She showed the right amount of skepticism and she didn’t just swallow it up.  She questioned the statement and witnessed many unnatural events (like turning into a bird) before she began to even think about believing that this whole thing was true.

Favorite Lines:

Xu kua,” she picked up the beat and struck her face in the water.  “I am glorious.” 

User kua.  I am mighty.”

Neteri kua.  I am strong.”

A pounding on the bathroom door made Suri start.  She turned off the water.

“We know you’re glorious,” Carrie yelled from the hallway.

“Yes, but other people have to use the shower, O mighty one,” Nicole screamed.

When the mummy kissed Sudi I couldn’t stop giggling.

The story of Isis and Osiris was told, but I was familiar with it.  (I actually read it in one of my history books.)  Osiris and Isis, who were siblings, married and, er, had Horus, I think.  Seth was the evil brother and he wanted to take Osiris’ place (I’m a bit fuzzy on the details–I might get some info wrong!) so he tricked Osiris into getting into this box that was specially made for someone.  Whoever was able to fit in the box could have it.

When it was Osiris’ turn to lay in the box, he fit, but Seth trapped him in and his men put Osiris in the water with the box.  Isis was sad and all, so she went in search of the box.  It was trapped in these pillars of another castle or something, but she was able to retrieve it and I think she revived Osiris long enough so they could have Horus, who Isis trained.  Then Horus went back and defeated Seth.

I hope I remembered that all correctly.  Of course, in mythology, there are several versions of one myth, so… Yeah…

I think Meri was my favorite character.  HAHAHA!  She wore a shirt that said “PROBLEM CHILD!”  How can you not laugh at that?  Oh, how easily I’m amused…

I really didn’t like the ending.  The girls totally defeated something together and you know what they said?  Ya wanna know what they said?  “See you tomorrow.”  THAT’S what they said.  Which was kind of annoying.

In the end, I rated this 3/5 stars.  I’m anxious to read the next book!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Summoning (Sisters of Isis, #1) by Lynne Ewing

Let me know your thoughts!

