The Book Sacrifice Tag


Hey, guys!  How are you?  So, I’ve been watching some of those awesome BookTubers on YouTube and caught a whiff of this cool tag, the Book Sacrifice Tag.  Basically, it’s a tag used to talk about disliked books, created by Ariel Bissett.  It looks pretty fun!  You can check out her original video here.  Let’s get started!

This tag is just for fun and isn’t meant to bash anyone who likes these books–these are just my own personal opinions!

The rules are to talk about what books you’d sacrifice in the following scenarios.  (P.S. The questions below are the questions provided with the original video.)

**Warning: There will be spoilers in here, though I tried very hard not to put any.  Just in case, here are the books I talk about in this post: Fallen by Lauren Kate, Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Coda by Emma Trevayne.**

1.) An Over-Hyped Book: Say you’re in a bookstore, just lookin’ around, saying hello to all your little buddies on the shelves, when all of a sudden, there’s a zombie apocalypse!  Suddenly, you hear a voice over the PA System alerting everyone that the military discovered the zombies’ weakness: over-hyped books.  What’s the first over-hyped book that you chuck at those zombies?

My Answer: The book I’d throw at the zombies would be Fallen (Fallen, #1) by Lauren Kate.  There was so much hype for this book, but reading it made Twilight look like a five-star book in my eyes.  I feel like the main character was even more desperate than Bella Swan, so desperate that she continued to pursue a guy who flipped her off–okay, if that happened to me?  I’d BACK OFF.  And Luce, the main character, did some incredibly stupid things, like going into some dude’s black car because a guy from the mental institution she was sent to told her to.  Yeah.  Real smart, Luce.

2.) A Sequel: You just left the hair salon with the most fabulous ‘do, when suddenly, it starts raining cats and dogs!  What sequel are you going to use to protect your new ‘do from the damaging rain?

My Answer: The book I’d use to protect my gorgeous hairstyle would be Pandemonium (Delirium, #2) by Lauren Oliver.  OMG, wow… I seriously don’t have it out for the authors named Lauren… This is just a coinkidink!  I swear!

I absolutely adored Delirium.  Lauren Oliver’s writing style is just incredible and so beautiful–but Pandemonium fell flat.  I’ve not finished reading it yet, and honestly, I don’t know if I want to.  To be honest, I haven’t made it that far into the book, but it hasn’t drawn me to it at all.  So far, I’ve only sensed the barest trace of Oliver’s style that I admired from the last book.

3.) A Classic: So you’re in your English class and your English professor is going on and on and on about some classic: about how oh-so wonderful it was and how it totally changed the world.  You’re getting so tired of hearing about this darn classic that you want to chuck the thing in his face because you think it’s worth the detention to show everyone how you felt about this book!  What book did you throw?

My Answer: Oh.  My gods.  The answer came to me immediately: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  If you read my review, ha!  You probably already knew my answer.  I hated that book so bad.  It was one of the most boring things I’ve ever read!  It took me weeks–literally, WEEKS–to get it finished.  And when I did plow through it, I had to force myself to do so because unfortunately it was for an assignment >.<  I had no interest in the book whatsoever.  The “interesting” part was towards the end.  I wasted some good weeks on that book.  Oh, well.  At least I got other reading done then, too (though I was constantly being reminded to finish it!  Lol!).

4.) Your Least Favorite Book in Life: Let’s say you’re at the library, just chilling, when all of a sudden, global warming strikes, turning the outdoors into a frozen wasteland!  The only way you might survive is if you… burn a book.  *An audible gasp comes from the crowd*  That’s right, I said burn a book.  Now: What book did you dislike so much that you wouldn’t regret burning it?

My Answer: Coda (Coda, #1) by Emma Trevayne.  *Sighs deeply*  You know, I really thought I’d like this book, as it revolved around music an awful lot.  In this book, music was a drug that the dystopian government used to keep people high or whatever.  There was always the danger of OD’ing, blah, blah, blah.  I did like it, but I wasn’t really a big fan of any of the characters if I remember correctly.  None of them seemed likable or approachable or anything.  There was just something about the book that made me make that book the very first one I’d ever rated one star.

**********

Well, there you have it!  That was the Book Sacrifice Tag!  It was really fun and I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, now 🙂  I hope you enjoyed this!  Leave a comment below to tell me what books you’d sacrifice in these wacky scenarios!  Thanks for reading!

-littleonion

2 thoughts on “The Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. laurelthebookworm says:

    I am with you on the over-hyped book and classic. Fallen infuriated me! It’s definitely on my top 5 least favourite books of all time! Luce was just so whiny and reckless! All the characters were annoying. I’m studying The Great Gatsby in my Literature class soon and I’m already sighing in advance!

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

