Book Review: Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days, #1) by Susan Ee


AngelfallTitle: Angelfall

Author: Susan Ee

Summary: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival.  Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again. -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I started reading this book months ago and almost finished reading it, but for some reason didn’t.  Well… I finished!

I’ve been hearing a lot of great things about this book and figured I should go ahead and try again.  Well, it was pretty amazing.

The author’s writing style kind of fell flat to me for some reason.  Just the whole time, Penryn sounded totally emotionless and flat.  I think this book would have been great as a multiple POV book.  Hearing Raffe’s thoughts would have been cool.  The story was absolutely fantastic, though, and was very dark and disturbing.

So, when I saw the cover at first I thought it was… ehh… But now when I look at it, I think, “how cutthroat.”  Haha!  The cover makes the book look so… not disturbing.  Heheh… it was totally disturbing.  There was cannibalism and stuff and I was freaking out.  It was like reading Pure.  Completely and totally disturbing.

Penryn’s mother was so freaky!  And scary!  And, uh, let’s try insane as our next adjective.  But she was SO funny as well.

I loved Tweedledee and Tweedledum!  Very Fred and George-esque.

Favorite Lines:

“Here, I’ll show you how to use it.  Let me see your foot.”

“That’s a pretty intimate demand in the angel world.  It usually takes dinner, some wine, and sparkling conversation for me to give up my feet.”

This calls for a witty comeback.

“Whatever,” I say. 

Okay, so I won’t be getting the Witty Woman of the Year Award.  HAHAHA!!!  OMG I just realized something!  It was like in Catching Fire (I don’t remember if this was actually in the book, but I remember it from the movie) when Peeta was all, “What’s your favorite color?”  And Katniss was like, “Oh, now you’ve crossed the line.”  LOL.

I couldn’t help but draw some similarities between Angelfall and The Hunger Games, though.  Penryn and Katniss both had tense relationships with their mothers, fathers were absent, their personalities are very similar (I noticed that both Penryn and Katniss both weren’t too comfortable performing tasks involving healing). Paige is kind of like Primrose in that helpless little sister way.  Both girls were doing something dangerous to help their sisters.  They both worked alongside a boy they begin to maybe have a romantic relationship with (Peeta in THG, Raffe in Angelfall).  Penryn and Katniss weren’t looking for a romance, but BA-BAM.

Let’s talk about characters now.

I really did like Penryn.  She’s a strong female character who’s just trying to survive.  She was willing to do pretty much anything to find her sister and her mother and just have a somewhat happy family.  She was funny at times, and the “flatness” I talked about up there did go away a bit as I got more into the book.

Raffe was pretty cool, too.  He was funny and kind of had a dry humor, which I loved.

I enjoyed that we actually knew where the book was based–all over California.

The ending was seriously so scary and just… yikes.  I was getting ready to whip out my tissues when Penryn found Paige and she was just this monster and Paige was just calling out to Penryn over and over again, trying to make sure her sister still loved her and wanted Penryn to pick her up… It was just so sad!

Overall, I’m giving this book a 3.5/5 stars.  I hear the next book, World After, came out recently!  I just might get that for Christmas 😀

Let me know your thoughts!

