Book Review: Pandemonium (Delirium, #2) by Lauren Oliver


PandemoniumTitle: Pandemonium

Author: Lauren Oliver

Summary: I’m pushing aside
the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana
and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite. -Goodreads

 

Review:

Delirium was a great book and I really enjoyed everything about it: the plot, the genre, the romance, Ms. Oliver’s writing style.  It was just a beautiful book.  It had been a while since I read Delirium, but I saw Pandemonium at the library.  I hoped it was the second one, and it was!

I think the thing that stands out most about these books is Ms. Oliver’s poetic writing style.  She knows how to put words together so beautifully.  I was absolutely stunned when I found myself really noticing the different style.  I really don’t think it’s anything I’ve ever seen.

I really hoped Pandemonium would be just as good, maybe even better than Delirium.  But, boy, was I disappointed.

My first feelings were complete and utter confusion.  Confusion, confusion, confusion.  It was written in a Now & Then format, which was the center of my confusion (and pretty much the bane of my existence).

I didn’t feel myself drawn into the book.  Who knows?  Maybe I didn’t give it enough time.  All I know is, I was thinking about all the other books I could have been reading instead of this.  It was very boring.  I also noticed that I barely got a whiff of Oliver’s incredible writing, so that was pretty disappointing.

Once the format became less confusing, things began to get better.  But because of my other problems with the book, at page 15 I decided to conduct the fifty page test.  You’re probably familiar with it, and you’ve probably done it yourself to see whether or not a book you were reading is worth the read.

The fifty page test is where you read fifty pages of a book (no, der) to decide whether to drop it or keep reading.  In this case, I kept reading, as my confusion began to dissipate.

But that still didn’t solve one of the major problems: I WAS SO BORED.

I finally decided to drop the book and pick it up at another time when I didn’t have so many library books and so much to do.

I’ve not yet rated this book and will leave it unrated until I complete it.

Let me know your thoughts!

