2013 End of Year Book Survey!


2013 end of year book survey

Hey, everyone!  Welcome to the 2013 End of Year Book Survey!  I just discovered this on Chiara’s blog, and it looked really fun.  I think it originated over at Jamie’s blog, so check them out!

I have a feeling this is going to be really hard… Let’s get started!

best in books 2013 2

1. Best book you read in 2013?

Wow, this is hard.  (I’m already having trouble.  On the first question!)  Okay, I’m going to do this by genre, because I cannot choose one favorite book.

Paranormal: The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2) by Richelle Mead
Fantasy: Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout, House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4) by Rick Riordan
Contemporary YA: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins, True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet by Lola Douglas, OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn
Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic: Allegiant (Divergent, #3) by Veronica Roth, Specials (Uglies, #3) by Scott Westerfield

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

I had a few of them, actually.  Pandemonium (Delirium, #2) by Lauren Oliver is one of them.  I really, really loved Delirium, and thought Pandemonium would be just as good, even better!  But, unfortunately, it wasn’t, and I didn’t even bother finishing it.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

This would have to be Twilight (The Twilight Saga, #1) by Stephenie Meyer.  I FINALLY read it, to quench my curiosity about what the big deal was.  People either loved it or hated it, but I find a lot of whom I talked to hated it.  So I read it myself and was pleasantly (yes, pleasantly) surprised.  It was interesting and I read more than half of it in one sitting.  It wasn’t the best book in the world and it certainly isn’t up there with my favorites, but I did end up rating it 3/5 stars, my average rating for a lot of books.

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Hmm… I recommended Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth to a few people.  I really enjoyed it and figured I’d spread the love… 😀

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan, the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth, The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, and the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.  I hope I’m not missing anything…

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Hands down, Cassandra Clare!  I think of her very highly and enjoy her books, her characters, her awesome plots, and her writing style.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I’ve not read too many contemporary books until recently, so I’d definitely have to say True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet by Lola Douglas.  I didn’t expect it to be as good at it was, and I’m really glad I read it.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5) by Cassandra Clare would definitely be one of those books!  That book was like BA-BAM!  Another book that I had trouble putting down was Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead.

9. Book you read in 2013 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn.  It was realistic fiction, and it was so funny and I absolutely loved it!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

Hmm… Nothing really stands out in my mind at the moment, so I’m going to say it was Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger:

Let the sky fall

I did like this cover a lot, now that I think of it.  I know I can come up with something better, though, if I think about it.

11. Most memorable character in 2013?

There are so many!  Uh, let’s see… Tris from Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth, Daemon from Obsidian (Lux, #1), Will Herondale from Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1) by Cassandra Clare, and, heheh, Adrian and Sydney from Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1) by Richelle Mead.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

I’m going to have to go with Delirium (Delirium, #1) by Lauren Oliver.  Her writing was so beautiful in that book.  Very poetic.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4) by Rick Riordan and Allegiant (Divergent, #3) by Veronica Roth.  I know, I know I’m repeating, but I can’t help it!  These two books were fantastic!  When I finished Allegiant, I just about bawled my eyes out.  Same with House of Hades.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to read?

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  This book was absolutely fabulous and I loved every bit of it.  I also really enjoyed reading Hamlet by William Shakespeare.

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2013?

From The Giver (The Giver Quartet, #1) by Lois Lowry:

“Sometimes he awoke with a feeling of fragments afloat in his sleep, but he couldn’t seem to grasp them and put them together into something worthy of telling at the ritual.”

I really liked this quote because I totally understand it, and it happens to me all the time.

16. Shortest and longest book you read in 2013?

I think it would be:

Shortest — True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet by Lola Douglas
Longest — Eclipse (The Twilight Saga, #3) by Stephenie Meyer

17. Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about it?

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2) by Richelle Mead and Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier.  Both books were awesome and had several scenes that I was like, “Oh, shnap!”  Also, the e-book I read on my iPod, Discovering You by Melissa Kean.  That had a Rebecca feel, and it also had some pretty tight OMG scenes.

18. Favorite relationship from a book you read in 2013?

I have no idea how to say this without potential spoilers, so here’s a spoiler warning if you haven’t read House of Hades, Bloodlines, City of Glass, OCD, The Dude, and MeClockwork Princess, Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Anna and the French Kiss.  I’ll only talk about my favorite relationships, but if you don’t want to know who ends up with who, heed my spoiler warnings!

Friendship: Leo’s friendship with everyone from the Argo II in House of Hades; Sydney’s friendship with Trey in Bloodlines; Clary’s friendship with Simon in all of TMI; Danielle’s friendship with Daniel (I’m pretty sure that was his name) in OCD, The Dude, and Me.
Romance: Leo and Calypso’s cutesy relationship in House of Hades; Percy and Annabeth  in House of Hades; Adrian and Sydney in Bloodlines; Clary and Jace in City of Ashes; Will and Tessa in Clockwork Princess and Sophie and Gideon, AND Gabriel and Cecily 😀  Katy and Daemon from Obsidian.  Last but not least, we have St. Clair and Anna from Anna and the French Kiss.

I SHIP IT!!!!!

Wow.  I totally cheated for that one XD

  19. Favorite book you read in 2013 from an author you’ve read previously?

The Life of Ty: Penguin Problems by Lauren Myracle.  This book was the spinoff to The Winnie Years, which is Lauren Myracle’s five book series, narrated by Winnie, Ty’s big sister, about Winnie’s life when she was ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen, and fourteen.  I absolutely loved The Winnie Years and was so excited when I saw that there was going to be a spinoff based on cute little Ty.  I’m still hoping for a Fifteen, but with the way Thirteen Plus One ended, I don’t think there will be a continuation D:  Go, The Winnie Years!

20. Best book you read in 2013 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else?

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1) by Cassandra Clare.

21. Genre you read the most from in 2013?

That would be either fantasy or dystopian/post-apocalyptic.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Adrian from Bloodlines, Daemon from Obsidian, and Leo from House of Hades.

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

Angelfall (Penryn and the End of Days, #1) by Susan Ee.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

The Shadow Society by Marie Rutkoski.  This book seemed very different from the books I usually read, but I really enjoyed it and loved the world I was transported in.

25. Book that was the most fun to read in 2013?

I think that would be Time Quake (The Gideon Trilogy, #3) by Linda Buckley-Archer.  I adore books about time travel!  It was so fun and I loved the characters and the villains and the world.

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2013?

A lot of the books I’ve listed made me cry or almost cry, so I’m going to say The Secret Keeper by Elizabeth Carroll.  I really enjoyed this book, but I have to say, it did bring me to tears.  I don’t remember why, exactly…

27. Book you read in 2013 that you think got overlooked this year or when it came out?

I’m going with OCD, The Dude, and Me.  This book was FANTASTIC and I feel like people don’t talk about it or haven’t heard of it or read it.  If you haven’t read this book, though, I highly, highly recommend it.  And, yes, it’s up there with my list of favorites 😀

book blogging, reading life 2013

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013?

I pretty much love all the book blogs I’ve discovered this year!  I’ve only started book blogging earlier this year (I think I started sometime in February?).  I hope to discover more book blogs soon!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2013?

I’m definitely going with my review for House of Hades.  I loved that book to bits and I think my review was pretty decent, too 😀

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

I really enjoyed writing my Fangirling At Its Best post!  The idea suddenly came to me after I left the bookstore and I was so excited to get to my laptop.

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

Most thought-provoking review or discussion… I’m going to say “Note to self: Life is too short to worry about stupid things” on Sara’s blog.  I think that within her post, there’s a great and inspiring message.

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I went to a Cornelia Funk author signing a couple of months ago and it was so much fun!  I still have to blog about it >.<  Anyway, she gave really great advice and I loved Inkheart and her other books.

6. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

I think the best moment of book blogging was getting into book blogging in the beginning!  I’ve discovered so many other people who love to read and I think it’s so awesome 😀

7. Most popular post this year on your blog?

My most popular post on my blog is Harry Potter Series II: Albus Severus Potter Chapter XXXVI.  That actually surprised me!

8. Post you wished got a little more love?

Uhm… Any of my first reviews?  HAHAHA!  I understand why they weren’t too popular, though–they were horrible!  I definitely think I’ve improved on my writing skills and my review formats.

9. Best bookish discover?

The discount bookstore that I’ve rediscovered.  I love this place!

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

On Goodreads, I was being completely unrealistic and set my reading challenge to 250 books this year.  Heheh.  I didn’t quite get to 250, but I did get to 105, and I think that’s pretty dang good for a year!

looking ahead

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2013 but will be your number 1 priority in 2014?

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4) by Richelle Mead.  I just got this one and I’m so excited to read it!  And Frostbite (Vampire Academy, #2) by Richelle Mead.  (I’m actually reading VA!)  Actually all of the Vampire Academy series is classified under #1 priority.  Oh, and World After (Penryn and the End of Days, #2) by Susan Ee.

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2014 (non-debut)?

Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, #5) by Rick Riordan and the fifth book in the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead (which I’m pretty sure comes out in 2014…).

3. 2014 debut you are most anticipating?

Huh.  I have no idea!  Usually when I read debuts, it’s like, years after the book came out.  Hmm…

4. Series ending you are most anticipating in 2014?

Can you guess?  Blood of Olympus!!!

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2014?

I’d really like to find time to reread more books.  I’d also like to have a new story started sometime next year, whether it’s a fanfic or an original story.  I’m tossing around a few ideas, but so far they’re not too serious.  I’ll figure it out!

Well, there you have it!  That was the 2013 End of Year Book Survey!  This took me a looooong time to write, so I really hope you enjoyed it, and I had a lot of fun doing this!  If y’all participate in this, leave a link in the comments below, because I’d love to check out your surveys!

-littleonion

P.S. I think this is the longest post I’ve ever written… Wow… 😀

13 thoughts on “2013 End of Year Book Survey!

  1. Yay! I’m glad you like the Bloodlines series. Adrian is definitely one of my favourite book boyfriends 😀
    How do you feel reading it before VA, though? I read VA first, and then Bloodlines, as they were released in that order. Has VA been spoiled a bit? D:
    I still need to read The Heroes of Olympus, or any Riordan books, for that matter. Everyone keeps talking about how amazing they are!

    Like

    • Yep! Adrian is *amazing*!

      So far, nothing has been spoiled for me for VA. I wasn’t sure if I absolutely needed to read VA before reading Bloodlines–and I’d been hearing about The Indigo Spell from left to right. Maybe I was just impatient to read Bloodlines first…

      Anyhow, I’m currently reading VA (I actually just started it), and so far, it’s really good!

      Oh, yes, Riordan’s books are outstanding! It’s great to read a series that’s still in progress and to be exited for release dates and fangirl with other readers of the books. That’s something I missed out on with many other series. It makes it all the more fun, though!

      Like

  2. captainwafflez says:

    You’re reading VA? Oh man, I love the heck out that series. And you’ll get to learn about Adrian’s tortured past! Heh heh.

    xD

    Also, mega kudos for taking on this survey! Not sure I have the attention span to sit and answer all these…

    Like

    • Haha! I’m *so* excited! I’m only on page 14 (not too impressive, heheh) but I can tell this is going to be good…

      Thank you! I wasn’t sure I could do it, either. I started around midday on Friday and spent a few hours on it before my laptop died. I finished the rest today and felt mega accomplished 😀 I’ve never done this before, but it was super fun and interesting to reflect on my 2013 bookish life!

      Like

  3. OCD, The Dude, and Me has been on my wishlist since it’s release, I’m hoping to read this book next year. Anna and the French Kiss is one of my favourite contemporary reads, it’s so adorable! I need to get to the rest of The Heroes of Olympus series, I read the first book a few months ago and it was okay. I’ve heard a lot about THE FEELS in the continuation of the series. Also, cliffhangers, I’m glad I have all the books that are out so I don’t have to that excruciatingly long wait. I read The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, I love her characters so hopefully I can get to TMI next year. I’ve seen Angelfall EVERYWHERE. I need to know what the deal is with this book, I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things.

    Like

    • OCD, The Dude, and Me was a great read! I only remember good things looking back on my reading experience, and it really was a hilarious book 😀

      Ahh, I love Anna and the French Kiss. I really need to buy my own copy, because that’s definitely the kind of book I would reread all the time.

      There are a lot of feels in The Heroes of Olympus series. And the cliffies are plain EVIL! Gahh! Have you read Percy Jackson and the Olympians?

      I really enjoyed The Infernal Devices. Clockwork Princess is my favorite of that series. TMI is great, as well! I finished City of Lost Souls, the fifth book in the series, just recently, and I can’t wait for City of Heavenly Fire 😀

      I had been hearing a lot about Angelfall, too, and decided it was a must-read. It was really good! I actually just accidentally purchased the e-book copy of the sequel (rather than the physical copy), World After. Oh, well. I’m really excited to read it, though!

      Like

  4. You’ve mentioned so many amazing books! I started the Lux series and really ended up loving it, it’s just such a fun series. I’ve finished the first two and will be getting to Opal very soon. I also love the Divergent series, but I’m one of ‘those people’ – the ones who just didn’t like Allegiant at all. I’m happy to see you did though, I really wanted to love that book 🙂 I am glad I’m not the only person who still needs to read the VA series, I HAVE to do this soon.

    Great answers! My End of Year Survery

    Like

    • Yes! Do you love Daemon? Haha! I’m actually reading Opal right now. I’m 72 pages in, and I already love it!

      Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t like Allegiant. I lent my copy to someone who also didn’t like it, though she enjoyed the first two books.

      Haha, high five! I’ve been putting off Richelle Mead’s books for SO long, but, in my opinion, they are fantastic. It’s really rare for me to read a bunch of books from an author and rate them all five stars. I’ve read four of her books and thought they were 5 star worthy. I just went out and bought the next book for VA 😀 The movie is coming out soon, and it looks good. If you read VA, I hope you enjoy it 🙂

      Thank you! I can’t wait to check out your survey!

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

