Book Review: Onyx (Lux, #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


onyxTitle: Onyx

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Summary: Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies… -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I LOVED Obsidian and was dying to read Onyx.  I was reading this in hopes of being pulled from my reading slump.  And, boy, was I pulled!  This book was fantastic–I was grinning like an idiot for most of the time.

That cover?  For real?  Seriously?  Cheese… THAT IS NOT DAEMON.  THAT IS NOT KATY.  SERIOUSLY.  GO AWAY!!!

First of all, here’s the dedication:

“Dedicated to book lovers and book bloggers everywhere, those large and small.”  Isn’t that so wonderful?!  It’s beautiful.

Okay, the wit in this book was so brilliant.

Hilarity Level: 5/5–This book was SO incredibly funny.  I was laughing on the very first page.  There were so many great lines in this book.  A lot I found in the first thirty pages.

I love how at the end we got a chapter in Daemon’s POV like in the last book.

Once again, I love how Katy is a book blogger!  “There were several packages waiting for me at the post office and I only barely squealed.  They were advance reader copies from other bloggers passing them along for review.”  EEEK!!!

I hated Simon.  ‘Nuff said.

Daemon… he’s in a class of his own.  Every time I think of Daemon, I think of Greg House from “House.”  Y’know.  ‘Cause they’re both jerks.

I was so mad when Katy and Blake were together.  DON’T YOU DARE FORGET ABOUT DAEMON, WOMAN!!!  I thought Blake was nicer, but I knew something was off about him, and Daemon knew something was off about him.  AND THEN YOU WENT AND KILLED ADAM!!!  YOU FOOOOOOL!

When I found out about Blake’s backstory, my suspicions did lessen… but then they boomed.  This boy seriously had some screws loose.  His training methods…?  WHAT WAS THAT?!  THROWING A KNIFE AT HER?  MAKING HER BATTLE ARUM?  WHAT THE HECK?!

There was something off about Will, too, but then I KNEW!  And he’s dating Katy’s mom… UGH!!!  AND HE WAS AN IMPLANT!  OH MY GODS!  OMGOMGOMG!!!  Of course, Daemon saved the day ;D

That fight between Daemon and Katy where Daemon was all, “I’m done,” made me pull my hair in frustration.

“The connection between a human and a Luxen after a massive healing is unbreakable at a cellular level.  It marries the two together.  One cannot survive if the other perishes.”

When I read that, I had to read it  v e r y  s l o w l y  because if you read it normally, you’re immediately reminded of Harry Potter’s “one cannot live if the other survives.”  This is the exact opposite: “one cannot survive if the other perishes.”

When they were filming the vlog?  THAT WAS SO… *FANGIRL*  And Daemon was in it!!!  *sighs*  I want a Daemon.

Katy is a very sensible person, but going to Vaughn’s house?  Without protection?  That’s Clary (TMI)-esque!  (We all love ya, Clary!  :D)

When Blake said that Dee and Adam were dead I freaked out.  It was only Adam… but still.  I liked him.  POOR DEE!!!

Favorite Lines

It could be a… side effect of the healing.”  Daemon watched me over the rim of his glass.  I bet he’d look hot with a milk mustache. 

Heheh.

~

Surprise widened his eyes as he stepped back.  “Caving in so easily?”

“Caving in?”  I laughed without feeling.  “I just want you out of my face.”

Daemon chuckled deeply.  “Keep telling yourself that, Kitten.”

“Keep using your ego steroids.”

~

“I always liked you.  From the first moment you flipped me off.”  XD That was Daemon talking to Katy.  I remember that moment!

~

He grinned.  “I bet that by New Year’s Day, you will have admitted that you’re madly, deeply, and irrevocably–“

“Wow.  Want to throw another adverb out there?”  My cheeks were burning.

“How about irresistibly?”

I rolled my eyes and muttered, “I’m surprised you know what an adverb is.”

That ending was crazy!  5/5 stars!  I loved this book!  I’m actually reading Opal right now, and it’s great!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Onyx (Lux, #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

    • Thank you! It took a while for me to write this because I had to sort out my notes because when I write my review notes, my handwriting gets really messy and I write all in the margin and stuff, haha. I’m glad you liked it! Have you read Obsidian?

      Like

      • SarahClare says:

        I started it, but then I got a new Kindle and didn’t transfer anything over.. Irk! I know, that’s terrible of me.

        It’s on my ‘to do’ list.

        And I can totally sympathise with messy handwriting.. mine looks like I write with my eyes closed..

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

