Book Review: The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3) by Richelle Mead


The indigo spellTitle: The Indigo Spell

Author: Richelle Mead

Summary: Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets–and human lives.”
In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch–a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood–or else she might be next. -Goodreads

 

Review:

2013 Review

**Warning: Spoilers!  I also spoil Dead Is The New Black (Dead Is, #1) by Marlene Perez, so if you haven’t read it, proceed with caution.  I’ll put up a warning when I start talking about it, though, in case you want to skip over it.**

With the way Richelle Mead ended The Golden Lily, I just wanted to reach into the book and give Adrian a big hug.

Lucky for me, though, I had The Indigo Spell in my possession when I finished The Golden Lily, so I’d been able to start it ASAP.

I’d realized that The Indigo Spell had been published in 2013, and The Fiery Heart was published in 2013 as well.  That’s pretty cool that Richelle Mead was able to publish two books in one year 😀

I hate to sound like a broken record (and I know I do, lol), but WHY CAN’T THESE PEOPLE GET THE COVER RIGHT?!?!  Seriously, they shouldn’t put faces on the covers…

Actually, the cover for The Indigo Spell has pretty much been the face/representative of all of Richelle Mead’s books.  I’d been seeing this book everywhere and hearing about it everywhere and I always wondered, “I wonder if her books are good” or “I wonder what those books are about.”  And believe me, I’m so glad I picked up this series.  It’s really great.

So, I guess the people on the cover are Marcus Finch, Sydney, and Adrian.  Right?  Right.

Right on the first page, I burst out laughing about Terwilliger’s call to Sydney.  Just read it 😀

Unfortunately, when I started the book, I didn’t get past page 3 before I got distracted by life.  Gahh.

When Sydney got trapped on that flight with Adrian, I was smiling so big.  I was also happy that Adrian wasn’t easily brushed off by Sydney’s “How dare you love me even though I don’t want you to!” comments.

And I loved how Adrian asked Sydney to dance at the wedding.  YAY!  Go Sydrian, wahoo!

I loved the skee ball game where Marcus was all, “It may take you a few tries,” and Sydney threw her ball and was even better than him XD

There were so many Sydrian moments!

**DEAD IS THE NEW BLACK SPOILERS**

During my (extremely unsuccessful) Reread-athon, I read Dead Is The New Black.  In the book, there was a character named Miss “Ms.” Foster, who was the cheerleading coach–and a soul sucker.

Soul suckers were these vampire-esque creatures that fed off of young, beautiful girls to steal their youth and beauty:

“That’s the joy of being a soul sucker,” she said.  “Youth and beauty is an everlasting supply.”  That’s why she targeted the cheerleaders.  Youth and beauty in one convenient package.Dead Is the New Black

Anyway, Ms. Terwilliger’s sister, Veronica, had an uncanny resemblance to Miss Foster:

“Sydney,” Ms. Terwilliger said, looking at me strangely.  “There are few young women out there with your abilities.  Along with youth and beauty, she intends to suck someone’s magic away and use it to make herself that much more powerful.  You, my dear, would be the ultimate coup for her.” The Indigo Spell

Sooo… what’s with that?

**END OF SPOILERY SECTION FOR DEAD IS THE NEW BLACK**

When Adrian and Sydney went to see those suites and Adrian went off script… OMG… hahahahaha!!!

We’d had a whole routine planned, but Adrian immediately went off script.  He slung his arm around me.  “Yeah, we’re looking for a weekend getaway, and a friend of ours swears this is top-of-the-line romance.”  He pulled me closer.  “Our anniversary’s coming up.  We’ve been dating for one year, but man, it hardly seems like it.”

Heheh.

When Ms. T told Sydney that the demon they summoned thought of her and Adrian as its parents, I burst out laughing.

When Sydney’s sister arrived, I  was like, “Holy flipping snap!”  She just began her real romantic relationship with Adrian, and now her little sister’s here?  UGH!!!

5/5 stars!  I can’t wait to read The Fiery Heart.  It’s going to be sweet.  Actually, I think this is the last book I completed in 2013, and I was happy to finish the year with a book I loved.  What was the last book you read in 2013?

Let me know your thoughts!

