Book Review: Dead Is Just A Dream (Dead Is, #8) by Marlene Perez


Dead is just a dreamTitle: Dead Is Just A Dream

Author: Marlene Perez

Summary: The people of Nightshade, California, are dying in their sleep, and fifteen-year-old paranormal warrior Jessica Walsh is determined to find the killer . . . or killers. Justice isn’t the only thing on Jessica’s mind, however. Some days she’s not sure which is worse—having a creepy clown lurking outside her window or having her rock star boyfriend’s hot ex-girlfriend back in town. Could the disturbing works of a strange painter somehow at the heart of the mystery? Jessica is losing sleep—but she’s got to figure it out before the night terrors strike again. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

This was the first book I read in 2014!  Which means I’m finally catching up with my reviews!  YES!!!

Anyway, I started this book right on January 1, just a few minutes after midnight.  It’s the newest book in one of the first YA series I ever read!  It isn’t the greatest series in the world, but I’ll always have a special place in my heart for it 🙂

The last few books in the Dead Is series were actually spinoffs of the first books in the series, with Daisy as the main character.  In the spinoff, however, Jessica Walsh, Sean’s younger sister, is the main character.  Sean is Samantha’s boyfriend.  Samantha is Daisy’s BFF, and Sean is Ryan’s (Daisy’s boyfriend) BFF.  Capiche?

Anyway.  Jessica’s alright, but she’s no Daisy.

I’d actually forgotten most of the details about this series, considering it had been I while since I read it.

OMG–WE GOT A DAISY/RYAN EPILOGUE AT THE END!!!  LIKE OLD TIMES!!!  *bawls*  RYAN ASKED DAISY TO MARRY HIM!  OH, THE FEELS!  FEEEEELS!  FEEL MY FEELS!!!

That was the perfect thing Marlene Perez could have ever done to end the series.  It was, like, six years later, I think.  I wish it had been a little more emotional, his proposal.  But I soooo didn’t see that coming!  Once again, it was a great way to tie off the series, going back to where it all began: Daisy and Ryan.

This book was a quick read, with a total of 176 pages, and I really, really loved it.

5/5 stars!

 

Let me know your thoughts!

