Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1) by Richelle Mead


Vampire academyTitle: Vampire Academy

Author: Richelle Mead

Summary: St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger…

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever. -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers up ahead!  I also talk about (and may spoil) Bloodlines, The Golden Lily, and The Indigo Spell.**

Yes!  I have finally taken the leap and read… Vampire Academy.  It’s actually been recommended to me a few times, but that was before I’d read anything by Richelle Mead and… well, know I’ve got a background.  Y’know.  Bloodlines, (Adrian), The Golden Lily, (Adrian), The Indigo Spell, (and Adrian, of course.).  We have history.  I’m actually glad I began Bloodlines before VA because I, for some reason, feel like I would have been totally lost in this world had I not been already introduced to it by Sydney.

Anyway!  Bloodlines was fantastic!  The Golden Lily was amazing!  The Indigo Spell was absolutely perfect!  I just had to check out Richelle Mead’s other books.  So, I finally picked up Vampire Academy.  Did I enjoy it?

No.  I didn’t enjoy it.  Enjoying it doesn’t even BEGIN to explain how much I absolutely LOVED this book!  It was fabulous!  It was the kind of book you didn’t want to put down, and when you were doing something else, all you could think about was when you could get back to the book.  Why is Richelle Mead so awesome?!

Our main character, Rose, was… well, Rose was a lot of things.  She struck me as the type of person who, if you’re nice to her, she’ll be nice to you.  If you’re not, she’ll rearrange your face.  O_o  I noticed that a lot of the time, she was full of herself and so impressed with herself and always told us how beautiful she was and blah, blah, blah.  I mean, usually we get main characters who are always, “I guess I’m pretty, but I’m not, like, beautiful or anything.”  But going on and on about how pretty you are and how you “know the effect you have on guys”?  Heh, no.  There’s a difference between confidence and cockiness.  She was definitely the latter many times, though she did acknowledge her mistakes, which I appreciated.

I think Rose is a tough cookie, but some of it is a front, y’know?

I really loved her snarky comebacks.  Heheh.  I wish I could think fast and come up with stuff like that.  Rose was so different from Sydney.  The only similarity I really caught between the two is that they were both uncomfortable with vampire magic.  But both had it drilled into them that it was bad.

Rose flashed back a lot, and it got confusing sometimes to the point where I’d have to go back a few pages and reread it.  I wish the flashbacks were italicized.

So, Rose was obsessed with the term “shadow-kissed,” which was thrown in there a lot throughout the book.  And, the name of one of the books in this series is Shadow Kiss.  Ooh, foreshadowing!

Lissa was Rose’s Moroi BFF.  Lissa seems like the type of person who if Rose said to jump, Lissa would say, “How high?”  But, she can definitely hold her own.  But Lissa was way nicer than Rose.  She was very sensitive, as well.

Lissa was depressed and she was a spirit user, which meant she could heal people/animals.  She also was a frequent compulsion user, which would have sent Sydney running for the hills, heheh.  It nearly sent Rose running for the hills.  When Lissa used her compulsion on Camille, it was so creepy.

I think, however, if I had read VA before Bloodlines, I would have taken a larger liking to Dimitri.  I don’t know, I didn’t really find him… appealing?  I’M NOT CRAZY!!!  I don’t know.  I just don’t know.  He was alright.

Shrugging

Ahem, anyway.  I hadn’t expected there to be such a large age gap between Rose and Dimitri.  Seven years between them.  I really loved that their “relationship” wasn’t insta-love.  Actually, their “relationship” is kind of up in the air… I don’t know what they are.

Anyway, I loved how Dimitri would tell Rose what to do in training, and then while she trained, he’d kick back and read.  HA!

I re-met Eddie very early on.  He seems like a party dude–completely different from his future role in Bloodlines.  I was rather surprised.  We didn’t get much of him, though.

Christian scared me a bit in the beginning.  He was freaky and kind of reminded me of Bloodlines’ Trey.  He was also rebellious and crazy and loved going against the system.  Very dystopian-esque 😀

We also heard about Sonya and Mikhail.  Sonya’s past is very interesting…

That whole thing with Jesse and Ralf and that rumor about Rose… UGH!  I was totally rooting for Rose to go all Dimitri on them or something!  Instead, Lissa used compulsion on the boys to get some apologies out of them.  Classic Lissa.

Natalie was annoying, but I knew something was up with her… I just didn’t know what.  And then she went Strigoi!  Dude!  What the heck?!

Finding out Victor Dashkov was the bad guy was really, really unexpected, for me, at least.

Learning about spirit users was fun.

Guess who didn’t once make an appearance in this book?  MY ADRIAN!!!  I was so upset!  GAHH!

Anyway, 5/5 stars!  I really loved this book and can’t wait to read Frostbite.

4 thoughts on “Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1) by Richelle Mead

  1. SarahClare says:

    I LOVE this series. I’m a hardcore Dimitri fan through and through. I think because I read VA before Bloodlines my feelings towards Adrian are marred by how he was before compared to after. You know?

    Rose rocks! And now you can see the film and grumble/cheer with the rest of us when it is worse/better than the book. True?

    😀

    Like

    • I’m loving it, too! I bought Frostbite a few weeks ago, so I hope I can read it soon.

      I get you on the whole Adrian aspect. I’m anxious to meet him, pre-Bloodlines, heheh.

      True! I’m really excited to see this movie (though, I don’t know if I’ll see it when it drops in the theaters) and I really like the actress who plays Rose. Not *quite* how I imagined her, but oh, well. I really like the actress who portrays Lissa, too!

      Like

      • SarahClare says:

        Me too! I think Rose and Lissa are pretty much on the money. Dimitri isn’t right. But then.. I’m not sure any man fits my imagined image of that hulking figure of Russian perfection!

        Adrian is a mess! (and it’s not a spoiler here because Bloodlines makes that pretty clear) A lovable mess, but still. You’ll enjoy his first scenes.

        Like

      • Oh, no, no, no. Nope. Dimitri isn’t right at all. I’m not quite sure how I imagined Dimitri, but even though we’re reminded of his long hair, I have trouble imagining him like that lol.

        *claps excitedly* I can’t wait to read his first scenes, then!!!

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

