Book Review: Opal (Lux, #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


opal 2Title: Opal

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Summary: No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!  I spoil Allegiant as well.  A little about City of Lost Souls… And Vampire Academy…**

Obsidian and Onyx blew me away, so I was so excited to read Opal!  I was even more excited to see it at the library, and I got it!  (Even though I swore myself off the library… >.<)

The cover was, uh, cheesy.  But, I found out who the models are!  They’re real people!  Look:

Pepe and Sztella

Ohmysweetgoodness, as Emma (Of Poseidon) would say.

Ahem, anywho.  This book was an emotional rollercoaster!  At one point, I’d gotten so into this book that I actually called someone Daemon.  I also had the same grin on my face like I did when I read Onyx.  Good times.

So, Blake came back, and I totally thought he was with them until he STABBED THEM IN THE BACK!!!  Not literally, of course… Though, I certainly wouldn’t put it past him.

We also met an acquaintance of Blake’s, Luc, who helped them get into the building with all the onyx.  Yikeses!

There was also some trouble in paradise for Katy and Daemon in the beginning, but it was all sorted out… until that horrible end… We’ll talk about that later.

A LOT of awkward tension between Katy and Dee, as well.  I really missed their friendship!  I missed having Dee around just in general, because she barely played a big part in this book.

How do y’all pronounce Katy’s name, anyway?  I call her “Katie,” but Daemon sometimes called her “Kat” which led me to believe that maybe her name was pronounced “Cat-ee.”  Catty.  Heheh.

The scene when Daemon, Katy, and Blake went to the club reminded me of the scene in City of Lost Souls when Clary, Jace, and Sebastian went to the club with those sparkly faerie drugs.

Right when it was mentioned that Carissa had the “flu,” I immediately knew something was up.  The fight between her and Katy was EPIC.  But then… she died… DX

I don’t remember if I mentioned this in one of my reviews for the other two books in this series, but I noticed a similarity between Vampire Academy and Obsidian:

In Vampire Academy, Lissa, a Moroi, healed Rose, and they, in turn, became “tied,” “linked,” or “bonded.”

In Obsidian, Daemon, a Luxen, healed Katy, and they became “tied,” or “linked,” or “bonded,” as well.  Hmm…

There was this really annoying thing where someone was always “lifting those long eyelashes,” and it’s just repeated over and over and over.  “His lashes lifted,” “His lashes lowered.”  “His lashes fanned the tips of his cheeks.”  Seriously.  “He averted his gaze” would have been a fine replacement, because those phrases were way overused.  If I counted how many times a phrase about someone’s long lashes was used, I would probably come up with some ridiculous number.

Okay, let’s talk about how Blake was sneaking into Katy’s room at night… dude… it’s like when Edward watched Bella sleep, except it was a million times creepier!  I was like, “Girl, go tell Daemon and he’ll kick Blake’s hybrid butt!”  But, nooo!

Daemon bugged Katy about college just like Edward did to Bella.

AWW, WHEN DAEMON GOT KATY THAT MACBOOK?!?

AND THEN WHEN KATY GOT SHOT?!?  IT WAS LIKE TRIS ALL OVER AGAIN!!!  And I swear, if I hadn’t been in public, I would’ve broken down, man.  Geez…

Favorite Lines:

No more than ten seconds later, Daemon was standing in the doorway of my bedroom.  Hair messy from sleep, flannel pajama bottoms rumpled.  No shirt.  Three feet plus of snow outside, and he was still half naked.

~

Momma didn’t raise a pushover.

~

Wow.  He’d really been stalking my blog.

~

Dawson shifted, dropping his head into his hand.  “Do you ever stop talking?”

“When I’m sleeping,” Blake replied.

“And when you’re dead,” Daemon threw back.  “You’ll stop talking when you’re dead.”

Blake’s lips thinned.  “Point taken.”

“Good.”  Daemon focused on the road.  “Try shutting up for a while.”

~

I cracked open my advanced copy of a new young adult novel for my Teaser Tuesday post. 

SHE DOES TEASER TUESDAY?!?!  That’s like… Whoa…

Reading the end was really nerve-wracking.  I was really scared about what would happen.  At page 379, three pages away from the end, I realized there weren’t enough pages for everything I wanted to happen… so what was going to happen?

This is what happened in the last few pages that left me dying.  I also wondered if the next book, Origin, would be in dual POV, Katy and Daemon’s…

Don’t go near the blue light, Blake had said.  They’re lasers.  Rip you right apart.

Daemon lurched forward, his hands reaching for me, but it was too late.  Before he could reach me, and not even a foot from my face, a sheet of blue light appeared and heat blew it off, blowing my hair back.  Daemon let out a startled scream, and I jerked back.

I couldn’t believe it.  Not possible.  I refused to believe it.  Daemon was on the other side of the light, closer to the exit, and I… I was on the other side, the wrong side.

Daemon’s eyes met mine and the look in them, the horror in his extraordinary green eyes cracked my heart into a million useless pieces.  He understood–oh, God, he understood what was happening.  I was trapped with the remaining Arum.

“Kat,” he whispered, pleaded, really.

Daemon reacted so fast, but for once in his entire life, he wasn’t fast enough.

“No!  Please!  No!” he roared, his voice cracking in a way I’d never heard before.  “Kat!”

Our eyes locked, and I would never, ever forget the terror in his, the look of pure helplessness.

“I love you, Katy.  Always have.  Always will,” he said, voice thick and hoarse with panic.  “I will come back for you.  I will–“

The emergency doors sealed shut with a soft thud.  “I love you,” I said, but Daemon… Daemon was gone.

There was no Daemon.

feels 2

?!?!?!?!?!?!?

I-I can’t even.  No.  NOOOOOOOONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONOOOOO!

5/5.

Let me know your thoughts!

