Book Review: Origin (Lux, #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


OriginTitle: Origin

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Summary: Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together? -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning:

spoilers

MAJOR SPOILERS. LIKE, HUGE.

Oh, my gods…

So, I was really excited for this book.  And then, I was spoiled.  But, my Spoilers post wasn’t referencing this book.

I think I might need to make a Spoilers Part 2 XD

Anyway, my excitement kind of died down for Origin when I was spoiled, but guess what?  I GOT OVER IT!  Because the book was so good.

Don’t let the spoilers get you down.

Heheh.  Anyway.  JLA threw craziness after craziness after us.  I’m surprised I’m still sane!  First, allow me to summarize my feelings for this book with carefully chosen gifs from the World Wide Web:

excited 5

Can’t contain the excitement 😀

 

sad

Yeah. I was so sad, I had to bring in Hermione for this one 😦

That’s basically how I felt.  Let’s get on with the review!

So, Origin was, in fact, written in both Katy and Daemon’s POVs.  Did I predict that in my review for Opal?  Anyway, I preferred Daemon’s POV to Katy’s (no surprise there xD).

It was interesting to see how the two (Daemon and Katy) were when separated, but I think I liked the other books better because they were together.  Then again, this was some book.  Now that I think about it, them being separated kind of reminds me of City of Lost Souls

This cover is my favorite.  Can we guess why…?  😀

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but the formatting of this particular series is very odd.  Frequently throughout all the books, there were printing errors, like there wouldn’t be a space between the period and the next sentence and stuff like that.  Have y’all noticed that?

Nancy Husher kind of reminded me of Jeanine Matthews from Divergent.  It’s really weird, because the more I read, the more I was reminded of Divergent.  I don’t know if it’s just because I’ve had Divergent on the brain…

I was very curious about Archer.  He had a certain mystique about him, but we learned that it was because he was a successful origin.  Those origins are scary…

HAHAHA, when Dee met him?!  That was so funny, especially because Archer can read thoughts and stuff… Ahh…

I totally hated Blake, but when Katy killed him in that stress test, which reminded me of simulations, by the way, I was so freaked… so was Katy.  I seriously did not expect Blake to die like that.

Luc was sooo funny and Hunter, the Arum, was hysterical!  I loved that scene at Luc’s club where Hunter and Daemon were getting into it, and Luc just slammed them both against the wall with his origin powers.

Luc was awesome, yet creepy on all levels.  And demented.

That Micah kid was so freaky!  And when he asked Daemon if he would play with him, I was like, oh, gods.  I was laughing so hard.

When Katy was holding a gun… y’all know what I was thinking of 😦

PEOPLE’S STUPID EYELASHES LOWERING ARE GETTING ON MY LAST NERVE!!!  Why must the author always use this phrase?!  Her lashes lowered, his lashes lifted, blah, blah, blah.

Okay… Okay… BETH’S PREGNANT!!!  OHMYSWEETGOODNESS!!!  AHHHHHHH!!!  Aww, that’s awesome for Beth 😀  I hope everything’s okay for her and Dawson…

And then… and then… and then… DAEMON ASKED KATY TO MARRY HIM?!  AND SHE SAID YES?!  AND THEY GOT MARRIED?!  EEEEK!!!

Ugh.  Okay, so when I got to the part I was spoiled for, I was like, “Well, I wouldn’t have known that if… I… hadn’t… been… spoiled… GAHH!”

So, Matthew, of all people, betrayed them.  And then Dawson… he… he killed him?  What?  That I wasn’t expecting.

The end of this book was just mass destruction and chaos.  This book probably had the most deaths I’ve read in a while.  Paris died… and then the Arum showed up… and then Andrew died… Adam died in OnyxAsh died in this book… I almost started crying, right there in public D:  The Thompsons are dead.  Dead and gone and their bodies were just… left in Vegas.

Favorite Lines:

“I’ll burn the world down to save her.”

If you think about the first half of this book and the second half of this book, they could have been completely different books, as they were so different!  I absolutely applaud Jennifer L. Armentrout.  She’s really exceeded my expectations with this whole series, and I cannot wait for Opposition, which I believe is the last book in this series.  I think…

5/5 stars.  Excellent job.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Origin (Lux, #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Let me know your thoughts!

