Book Review: Fruits Basket, Volume 2 by Natsuki Takaya


Fruits basket volume 2Title: Fruits Basket

Author: Natsuki Takaya

Summary: A family with an ancient curse…

And the girl who will change their lives forever…

Ever since Tohru Honda discovered the Zodiac secret of the Sohma clan, her eyes have opened to a world of magic and wonder. But with such a great secret comes great responsibility. When her best friends Hana-chan and Uo-chan come to the Sohma home for a sleepover, Tohru has her work cut out for her keeping the “Cat” in the bag and the “Dog” on a leash. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

Fruits Basket, #2!!!  Yay!  After that, ahem, Breaking Dawn incident, I whipped out Fruits Basket to make me feel better.  I actually finished the TV series.  I totally cried.

I think I definitely got better at reading manga-style this time around 😀  I feel accomplished, haha!

One of my favorite parts in this book was right at the beginning where two girls from school were talking to Hana about her little brother and they asked if they looked alike.  So Hana says no and whips out a picture of them:

Hanajima and her bro

Hana and her little brother

… and says, “See?  We’re nothing alike.”  Do y’all SEE that resemblance?  😄

But, seriously, Uo (Arisa) and Hana are the best friends ever.  I love those two!  So protective of little Tohru…

I loved it when Uo and Kyo were all mad at each other after playing cards… Heheh…

I felt really bad for Kyo because he was the cat and no one really respected him.  He really wanted a place in the Zodiac 😦  Kyo was jealous of Yuki, and vice versa.

Shigure is an author!  Ooh!

I love the little traits the author gives her characters.  Like how Kyo hates leeks.  Whenever someone tells him he should eat leeks, he’s all, “WHAT, YOU TRYING TO KILL ME, OR SOMETHING?!”  And I love how Kyo’s all, “This year I’m going to beat that damn rat!”  And Yuki’s all, “Yeah, yeah.  Keep wishing.”

I now realized, reading the manga, that the anime left out a lot…

I loved meeting Hatori 😀  I was so sad for him when I read about Kana D:

MOMIJI IS SO CUTE!!!

Favorite Lines:

Kyo: Hey!  Weren’t you asleep?!

Yuki: Your stupid voice woke me up.

~

Hana: May you have good waves next year.

Akito… evilness… Poor Hari.

5/5 stars!  I LOVED THIS!!!

 

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Fruits Basket, Volume 2 by Natsuki Takaya

  1. The anime does leave out a lot. The manga’s is very funny. Lol, Kyo and Yuki are always funny together, and I love momiji! So cute! Glad to see you loved this volume too!! 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

