Book Review: Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth


DivergentTitle: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Summary: In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!  I also spoil Insurgent, Allegiant, the second and third books in this series, and Mockingjay, the third book in Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games series.**

So, I’ve decided to reread Divergent for the first time because of the movie’s release.  When Catching Fire was released, I didn’t reread it, so there were a lot of things that I didn’t remember.

Because I wasn’t reviewing books at the time I first read Divergent, I’m going to put up a review.  Enjoy!

This book was recommended to me by http://tindreams.wordpress.com/.  Check her out!

I think the first book in a dystopian series is probably the most exciting because we’re being introduced to the characters and the unique world the author created.  Being re-introduced to the factions was an interesting experience.

Rereading this was hard, man!  Reading about Tris… I just wanted to cry.  It was very difficult being back in the world, because we know she’s dead.  We know she’s not coming back.  It’s over.  *sob*

The way I imagined the Dauntless compound was really… weird.  I’d describe it like the inside of a volcano.  Or at least the way I’d imagine the inside of a volcano… I don’t know.  Maybe I’ll draw it.  (I tried drawing it.  Major fail.  Even I was confused.  BY MY OWN DRAWING.  XD)

No insta-love in this relationship, no, sir.  I think the romance between Tris and Four formed naturally at a nice, steady pace.

My message to Peter, Molly, Drew (and Al, though he’s already gone): DIE, DIE, DIEEEEE!  Geez, they were horrible to Tris!  Ugh!

When Tris fought and totally wiped the floor with Molly, I was like BA-BAM!  That’s what you get for messing with the big guns!  😄

Okay, so I majorly fangirled at one point.  Let me tell you about it.

I don’t know if every copy includes this, but my (paperback–I wish I had this in hardcover) copy of Divergent has this Bonus Materials section.  One of the Bonus Materials is a short list of quotations that inspired Divergent.  Here’s the one I freaked over.  (I’m seriously freaking out/fangirling.):

Veronica: These lines, I imagine, would inspire the people in Tris’ world to fight the good fight.

“Hold on to the world we all remember fighting for
There’s some strength left in us yet
Hold on to the world we all remember dying for
There’s some hope left in it yet
Arise and be
All that you dreamed.” 
-“Arise” by Flyleaf

?!

fangirling

I remember this show… That’s Gibby, right?

VERONICA ROTH LIKES FLYLEAF?!?!?!?!?  I can’t… I can’t even… AHHHHH!!!!!!

Okay, first of all, I wanted to cry because of this quote because it reminded me so much of Tris.

Now.  I had no idea that a Flyleaf quote was one of the quotations that inspired Divergent–this is actually the first time I read this particular copy of the book.  (The first time I read Divergent, I got it from the library.)

And, it gets better!  On the next page, it gave a 10-song list of Veronica Roth’s Divergent Playlist.  Here are the ones that I’m flipping about.  Veronica explains each song, as well:

2. “Chasm” by Flyleaf.  And this song gets me in touch with the bad aspects of Beatrice’s chosen faction.

4. “Again” by Flyleaf.  And this is Beatrice’s song for her love interest.

6. “Sweet Sacrifice” by Evanescence.  I was listening to this song when the first scene I wrote (in chapter 6) popped into my head.  That scene led me to the world of the book and its basic plot.

10. “Arise” by Flyleaf.  A powerful song that’s perfect for chapters 38 and 39.

Oh, my gods… WOMAN LISTENS TO AWESOMESAUCE MUSIC!!!

When we met Uriah, I was like, “Don’t cry, don’t cry, don’t cry.”

I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but when I first read Divergent, I confused Four for Max, one of the Dauntless leaders.  So for more than half of the book, I thought Four was, like, a forty-year-old guy or something.  And I know his age was mentioned in there at the beginning… I don’t know.  So I thought his and Tris’ ship was weird.

Remember how in Mockingjay, Peeta was being mind-controlled by the Capitol and choked Katniss because he thought she was the enemy?  Check this out:

Tobias,” I say.  “Tobias!”

“He doesn’t know you,” says Jeanine. 

Tobias looks over his shoulder.  His eyes narrow and he starts toward me, fast.  Before the guards can stop him, he closes a hand around my throat, squeezing my trachea with his fingertips.  I choke, my face hot with blood.

Whoa.

Favorite Lines:

All the thoughts of being careful around Four left me.  “Were you a transfer too?”

“I thought I would only have trouble with the Candor asking too many questions,” he says coldly.  “Now I’ve got Stiffs, too?”

“It must be because you’re so approachable,” I say flatly.  “You know.  Like a bed of nails.”

OH MY GODS!!!  BWAHAHA!!!

So Al died, Tris’ mom died, Will died, Tris’ dad died.

I first rated Divergent 3/5 stars.  Now that I’ve completed the series and reread “Divergent,” I think it deserves a higher rating.  My updated rating is 4/5 stars.  I think I’ve improved as a reviewer, and there are a lot of things I failed to pick up on while I was first reading the book.  Tris was a very brave main character, one of the things I picked up on my second time around.  She lost watched her mother and father die in one day and killed a friend and still somehow found the strength to go on.  I think that’s what’s so incredible.  Tris was strong through her dark times.  I hadn’t realized what a brave person she was until rereading the book.

But, dang.

That was a good book.

P.S. I got some Divergent merch yesterday 😀  Yep!  I got one of the Divergent shirts.  It’s awesome!

Let me know your thoughts!

