Book Review: Ask the Passengers by A.S. King


Ask the passengersTitle: Ask The Passengers

Author: A.S. King

Summary: Astrid Jones desperately wants to confide in someone, but her mother’s pushiness and her father’s lack of interest tell her they’re the last people she can trust. Instead, Astrid spends hours lying on the backyard picnic table watching airplanes fly overhead. She doesn’t know the passengers inside, but they’re the only people who won’t judge her when she asks them her most personal questions . . . like what it means that she’s falling in love with a girl. -Goodreads

 

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers!**

I read this from January 25 to January 26.  I remember getting through this book really fast.  I don’t know if I told y’all, but the reason I haven’t posted a review for Ask the Passengers until now is because I just found the notes.  Here’s the story:

I got a new notebook, thinking that I would start writing my notes in a notebook rather than on sheets of paper that were ripped out of a notebook.  Ripping pages out of the notebook has some perks (and, I have this odd obsession with ripping pages out of notebooks).  For instance, my ripped out pages that I use to scrawl down my notes double as a bookmark (which I’m also obsessed with.  Any time someone closes a book and they don’t put a bookmark, I’m there.  I’m like, “Do you need a bookmark?  ‘Cause I have, like, a jillion bookmarks, if you want.  You should really use a bookmark, you know.  It’s… it’s just… better?”)… What was I saying?  Oh, yeah, my notes double as bookmarks.  ‘Kay.

So they don’t only double as bookmarks, but I also don’t have to worry about quickly finding a paper to write on if something pops into my head while I’m reading, because I have my notes in the back of the book.  All I have to worry about is bringing a pen, and I keep pens in my bag, so we’re good.

Anyway, I had the brilliant idea of writing my reviews in a notebook, so I do that.  And then I decide that’s not working out for me and I want to go back to my old way of reviewing.  Now, I’ve already finished reading Ask the Passengers at this point, and I stupidly start writing my review for Sabotaged, which I did not finish, on the backside of the last page for my ATP review.

So I’m like, “I can use this notebook for something else.”  And, of course, I have to, I must, rip the pages that were used out of the notebook.  Another quirk.

I swear I put them in my bag, and I searched for them crazily because I can’t stand it when I lose my notes, but I couldn’t find them.

So that’s the story.  And my beloved notes were retrieved last night 😀  I’m happy!

On to the review!  (I just realized I totally drifted off subject up there on my ramblings about the importance of bookmarks, heheh…)

I’ve seen many of A.S. King’s books at the library, and they all seem very interesting.  I think I had really been drawn to the covers of them.  I hadn’t actually checked any out until I was watching one of the fabulous BookTubers recommend it.  Nice!

When I picked up the book, I noticed that on the cover was a review from Lauren Myracle (one of my all-time favorite authors): “So specials and perfect and true and right… I’ll hold it in my heart forever.” And I trust this lady when it comes to books.  Remember Anna and the French Kiss?  Major awesomesauceness!  And that also had a Lauren Myracle review.

Ask the Passengers was written in Astrid Jones’ POV and in present tense, which I’m beginning to see more and more in contemporary books.  Not that I’m an expert on the contemporary genre or anything.  Astrid is an awesome name, by the way.  Let’s talk about her, by the way.

I don’t know what or how I expected Astrid Jones to be, but it wasn’t the way she was, which is totally fine!  I suppose I thought she might be on the boring side (I actually had major doubts about this book), but from page one, it seemed like she had something to share.

Astrid was a very amusing person, in my view:

After I make it to fourth-period trig (because I moved my legs to walk there, and motion is totally possible), I realize this is what trig sounds like to me: “Hgdj gehuoidah zdhgj szhdgouij fhhhf ldldfuhd.  Ujfrekujhd fhdy.  Ksdihfh.  54 46 34 23.  Iuhfg.”

I couldn’t stop laughing.

The whole thing about motion being possible was in reference to something a philosopher said about motion being nonexistent or something.  Astrid was in a philosophy class and she downright disagreed with that statement altogether.

When Astrid would “talk” to the plane passengers, we would get to see what was going on in their life in their POV, which was just so amazing.  I loved that.

Her family life wasn’t the most ideal.  Her parents weren’t the most attentive, as her father was too busy smoking pot and her mother preferred her younger sister, Ellis.

Mom goes into the kitchen to make dinner without asking me how my days was, even though she knows I’m here.

Astrid’s mother was very critical, which was very annoying.

When we first meet Astrid’s father, I thought that maybe he was the good parent, but no.  However, he did stick up for her when her mom was being a meanie.

“Why can’t you just be nice to her for once?”

That earns him major points.

Astrid’s town was very discriminative.

I was so happy that Astrid came out to her family about her girlfriend at the end, and that her family wasn’t overly weird about it.

Favorite Lines:

Technically, my father is The Dude from the movie The Big Lebowski. 

OMG I was totally thinking of OCD, The Dude, and Me!!!

Memorable Lines:

I feel bad for perfect Ellis.  She thinks she has it all figured out inside her safe little bubble.  She doesn’t realize yet that one day she’s going to fail at something, and our mother will be there to critique exactly how she failed, step-by-step.

In the end, I’m rating this book 3/5 stars.  It was a unique book, and I really haven’t read anything like it.  The storyline was good and believable, but it just wasn’t my favorite book in the world.  I’m really excited to read more of A.S. King’s books, though!

Let me know your thoughts!

