Top Ten Tuesday — Popular Authors I Haven’t Read


Hello, fellow bloggers and Internet people!

If you’ve visited my blog before, you’ll probably notice that this is the first ever weekly meme I’ve ever participated in!  I read a lot of them on other blogs, though!

I was catching up with some blogs in the WordPress Reader (a handy tool) when I noticed this weeks Top Ten Tuesday subject: popular authors we haven’t read.  This particularly caught my eye, because I think there are a lot of popular authors I’ve yet to read.  Like, a lot.  Seriously, it’s crazy.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  Let.  Us.  Begin.  Muwahahaha!!!

Until a few days ago, Rainbow Rowell would have been on this list, but I just finished Fangirl, which was awesomesauce 😀  *big thumbs up*

1. Rick Yancey, the author of The Fifth Wave, a book that EVERYONE is talking about.  I actually bought this back in November from my favorite discount bookstore for $4, hardcover and all!  But, I had so many other books to read from the library, and… then… yeah.  BUT!  I won’t be visiting the library for a few weeks (not by choice, I assure you) so this will give me time to (hopefully) catch up on books that I’ve been buying.

2. John Green, the author of The Fault In Our Stars.  I KNOW, IT’S A SIN I HAVEN’T READ IT.  *wails*  At first, I was avoiding this book because I heard it was sad, but I really want to see the movie.  But I refuse to see it without reading the book first.  So… guess I should get started, huh?  I actually don’t own The Fault In Our Stars and I was supposed to buy it at the bookstore (it was the whole purpose of one trip), and I ended up getting every single book BUT TFIOS.

And I’ve heard great reviews of JG’s other books.  I really don’t know why I’ve not read anything of his yet.  Am I avoiding him?

3. J.R.R. Tolkien, the author of The Fellowship of the Ring.  Okay.  Okay.  I TRIED, Y’ALL, I TRIED.  But it was just so, so hard to get into, you would not believe.  I clearly remember lying on the couch one day sometime in 2013, trying to read this.  I couldn’t.

I actually didn’t know that the series was called The Lord of the Rings.  I thought that was an actual book in the series.  See, that’s how much attention I’ve been paying.  I’m so ashamed.  *hangs head*

4. Sarah Dessen, the author of The Moon and More, and several other contemporary books.  I actually avoided the contemporary genre for a really long time because I was so into fantasy and dystopian.  I really miss my dystopians.  Did you know that I haven’t finished a dystopian book (not counting Divergent) since Angelfall?  Dude—that was back in November!

Anyway, I avoided Sarah Dessen for a while because she was in the contemporary genre.  I need to buy one of her books, though.  Are they any good?

5. Sarah J. Maas, the author of The Throne of Glass.  Now, I bought this!  In paperback!  At the bookstore!  But I was also avoiding Ms. Maas because her books didn’t seem appealing to me—though, I had no idea what they were about.  Yeah.  I judge books by their covers (sometimes).  Don’t judge!  XD

6. Tahereh Mafi, the author of Shatter Me.  I have no explanation as to why I haven’t read one of her books.  I’m actually reading the summary of this on Goodreads.  But I’ve heard great things about them!  Didn’t she just recently release a new book?

7. Veronica Rossi, the author of Under the Never Sky.

8. Christopher Paolini, the author of Eragon.  I’ve actually been very interested in these books—they’re so large!  But they seem very, very intimidating.  And they seem like they’d be hard to get into.

9. Ransom Riggs, the author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  I WANT TO READ THIS SO BAD.  I almost got it, but I didn’t.  I would have, but there were so, so many other books to choose from.

10. And last but not least, Gayle Forman, the author of If I Stay.  I have heard so many great things about this author.  Just ongoing raves from the BookTube community and other bloggers.  I just… I don’t know.  I’m so clueless.

I think I’ve sensed a pattern with all these authors: they’re all popular, right?  Well, that was a given.  But I think I have been avoiding these people.  I don’t know why, though.  Maybe it’s because they’re getting a bunch of hype.  Or, maybe it’s because, every time I discover one author, I discover ten more.  Ahh, problems that aren’t really problems of a reader xD

Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed this little list.  What do you think of these authors/books if you’ve read them?  Were they good?  A waste of time?  Let me know!  Also, drop me a link to your own Top Ten Tuesday posts, if you participate in this fun meme 😀  Thanks for reading!

-littleonion

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday — Popular Authors I Haven’t Read

      • I’d also maybe give LOTR another chance the first chunk is pretty dense but it does pick up 😉 Miss Perigrines is also great…. As an HP fan I would be curious to know if you would love or hate Paolini…. It really has that magical fantasy feel but the writing is just… Eh.

        Like

      • I really do want to read LOTR. Maybe I’ll give it another go…

        I’ve found myself thinking that when the time comes for me to read Paolini’s books, I would be comparing him to JKR. Haha, just some weird vibe, I guess. But I always see his books at the library. They’re just SO BIG!!! I’m excited, though. Hopefully, I can get all these books onto my shelves 😀

        Like

  1. TFioS is sad. But’s very well done, and doesn’t make you so much sad yourself as hopeful. I don’t like some of the other books by Green I’ve read as much, but none of them have been anything less than good, I think.

    So many books, so little time, right?

    Like

  2. You should try Christopher Paolini’s books. I read “Eragon” a year or two ago and loved it. It seems long but it’s a very quick read and a page-turner. I still need to read the rest of the series, but I think I’ll need to re-read “Eragon” first since I’ve forgotten a lot of the details! I have read “The Fault in Our Stars” and Gayle Forman’s “Just One Day” — simply because I kept seeing them on blogs — and despite my high hopes I actually didn’t love them as much as many people seemed to. I hope you like them more than I did. I’d like to check out the LOTR books, Ransom Riggs and The Fifth Wave too.

    Like

    • I’ll definitely check out Christopher Paolini’s books! I’ve always been interested in the Inheritance Cycle, so hopefully, I can read it soon!

      I’m sorry you didn’t like TFIOS and Just One Day as much as others. I hate when that happens–when there’s that book that everyone seems to like, but you just can’t get into. So annoying >.<

      If you ever get to read LOTR, Ransom Riggs, and The Fifth Wave, let me know what you thought of them! 😀

      Like

  3. Ah! Read the 5th Wave! It’s GREAT ! I can’t complain! It’s really action-packed and thought-provoking but funny and sad. I was a little skeptical when I picked it up because aliens, really? But I’m glad I didn’t judge it from that!

    And I love Sarah Dessen’s books. I think the top three books I would recommend are: Truth About Forever, Lock & Key and Just Listen. Her more recent books have disappointed me a little, but she’s still a good writer.

    If I Stay and the sequel Where She Went by Gayle Forman are two beautiful books. One of my all-time favourites. I’m always ready to recommend them…and the film adaption is out this year!

    I understand avoiding certain authors. I sometimes think of avoiding overhyped books because they make me expect too much even though I know the book probably won’t be as good as the hype suggests. But then I am also too curious. I must know and understand why the book is so loved!

    About Shatter Me (I’m yet to read the rest of the series), it seems like people either really LOVED it or really HATED it. I think it’s because of the language. Some say it is beautiful and vivid, some dismiss it as over-the-top purple prose. I was in the middle. I liked it, but I didn’t have very intense feelings about it. If you do read it, I would love to know what you think!

    Like

    • I’m definitely going to read The 5th Wave in the near future! I’m still debating what to read after The Catcher in the Rye—The 5th Wave or The Diviners? Ugh! I’m so indecisive…

      I’ve seen so much of Sarah Dessen, and so far, I’ve really enjoyed reading the contemporary genre. I think I should see what her books have to offer. I’ve heard great things about her books, though, so I’m confident that I’ll enjoy them, too!

      There’s going to be a movie of If I Stay? I had no idea! This knowledge makes me want to check out Gayle Forman even more, haha! I actually hadn’t heard of Gayle Forman until one of the (amazingly awesome) BookTubers recommended her books. I think the covers are beautiful, as well.

      I’m a skeptic when it comes to some overhyped books, so I’m usually always factoring in being disappointed. I do not like this skeptical side >.< I think it holds me back from reading a lot of "mainstream" authors/books. But there always is that curiosity, like you said! And that usually pushes me to read a book that I probably wouldn't normally read. 😀

      Hmm… is Shatter Me kind of like Delirium (Lauren Oliver)? Because I know that some people either really loved her poetic style and some didn't. Shatter Me is on my TBR list, though, and I'm very excited to read it! I hope I like it as much as others have!

      Like

      • I’m yet to read Catcher in the Rye too, but I will say The 5th Wave is a much, much, quicker read when compared to The Diviners. I think I read it in one sitting. Only because I just couldn’t and wouldn’t put it down!

        I hope you enjoy them too!

        Yup! I was so happy when I found about the film because this might mean Gayle Forman will get more exposure as an author. She deserves it! She’s awesome. Ah yes. I have seen quite a lot of BookTubers recommend her book, especially “Just One Day”.

        I think that’s the great thing about some “mainstream” books. They definitely push me to read books I may not have considered. Like The Book Thief! I’m not sure if I would have picked it up if I hadn’t heard so much about it. And I loved that book.

        Nope. Shatter Me is much more than Delirium. It’s definitely far more poetic. I haven’t read a book written like Shatter Me! Hope so too! (and I hope the hype won’t affect how you read it too much like it did with me 😦 )

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

