FanFiction Review: I’m With You by Karin-sama


Title: I’m With You

Author: Karin-sama

Summary: Meeka knows that something is wrong, missing, but her nightmares don’t give her many clues. But when a mysterious orange-haired boy stops her from jumping off a bridge by calling her a different name, she starts to remember another life and past love. As her memories resurface, she returns to the Sohma Main House, this time a prisoner, and much closer to the truth of the curse. -Author’s summary

Review:

**Warning: Minor spoilers!**

I’m With You is a fanfiction based on the manga series Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya.  I recently found out about the Fruits Basket series, and though I haven’t read many mangas, this is my favorite!  😀

I’m a big fan of fanfictionthere are times when I’m literally addicted to it.  After watching the Fruits Basket TV series and reading the first two books, I began to read I’m With You, and I absolutely loved it!  It was easy to follow, and the author used proper grammar, proper spelling, and proper punctuation.  The lack of all of the above is what usually turns me off fanfiction.  It’s too distracting when I’m constantly noticing all the grammatical errors, etc.  Of course, I make grammatical errors all the time.  I have high expectations for all authors ;D

The story was well-paced after the tentative beginning, when we were being introduced to the new world.  When things suddenly picked up, and I found myself devouring the rest!  I wasn’t sure in what direction the story would go, but I was pleased with the ending.

The plot for this story was dark.  I imagined Tohru’s world was cloudy and gray.

Tohru is a light character in the original series, and Karin-sama did a great job emphasizing her gloomy personality.  I wanted to hug Tohru and reassure her that everything would be alright.

I was happy that many of the original characters were included.  However, I missed the presence of Tohru’s friends, Uo and Hana.

I’m not sure how I felt about Miki, though I liked the part she played in the story.

Yuki and Kyo killed me in this story.  I really wanted to hug them, too.  I enjoyed the character development in them.

All of the characters were fantastically portrayed in this fic, especially Akito, the antagonist of the Fruits Basket series.  I liked the way Akito was written.  I don’t know him very well, as I don’t think I’ve met him yet in the Fruits Basket books, but he was so sinister and three-dimensional, he was starting to scare me!  He was a sadistic person in the series, and the author wrote him so we could see even more of his evilness.  We did, however, get an insight about why he acted the way he did.

Hatori, the family doctor, played a large role in this fic.  He’s one of my favorite characters, and I loved everything about him in this story.  He was protective, and I was glad there was an adult who actually cared about the kiddos.

Shigure is another favorite, but he wasn’t featured as much as I would have liked.  I suppose his light, happy-go-lucky attitude didn’t fit in with the dark themes of this story.  When he was present, his personality was different than it was in Fruits Basket.  He was grim, and I missed his positivity.

I made a playlist for I’m With You (which is growing fast), and a lot of the songs contain lines that I wanted to shout at the characters while I was reading.  Others are songs that I thought described situations and characters in the story.  The playlist can be found here.

There was also a special musical aspect to the story, I wonder if you’ll catch it when you start reading!  😀

I was happy with the conclusion, and I thoroughly enjoyed the read!  I’m With You was beautifully written and haunting.  5/5 stars!  I’d love to read more of this author’s work 😀

