Champion (Legend, #3) by Marie Lu: My Playlist and Commentary


Hey, y’all! Here’s that playlist/commentary post I was telling you about. I think this might apply to all the books in the Legend series, but maybe not.  The quotes from the book are pretty random… Tell me what you think. Do you think my playlist is accurate? What songs do you think should be in a Champion playlist?

You can listen to the playlist here on Spotify. Just a quick warning, this playlist will be spoilery, as I’m adding quotes from the book.  My original review can be found here. Enjoy!

“I tell myself that I don’t miss you at all.” ~Three Days Grace, “Gone Forever

“It’s better this way,” I tell myself for the hundredth time. ~Day, p. 7

“If you don’t love me, just say it—you have to help me.  It’d probably be for the best.  It’d make it easier to stay away from you, wouldn’t it?  I can let go.” ~Day, p. 212

“Push me up against the wall…” ~The Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Scar Tissue

She pushes me against the wall and drowns me in another kiss. ~Day, p. 10

“And it’s you and me and all of the people
And I don’t know why I can’t keep my eyes off of you.”
~Lifehouse, “You and Me

Somehow, in the midst of these aristocrats who blend into one blurry portrait, my eyes catch her silhouette and pause.  June.  The noise around me fades into a dull hum, quiet and uninteresting and all of my attention turns helplessly to the girl I thought I’d be able to face. ~Day, p. 37

“Dear agony, just let go of me
Suffer slowly, is this the way it’s gotta be?”
~Breaking Benjamin, “Dear Agony

I’m now writhing in pain.  Sweat soaks my white collar shirt and tears streak my face. ~Day, p. 59

“I don’t think you wanna — with me.” ~Breaking Benjamin, “Shallow Bay (I think this is Day’s theme song.)

“Fine, you wanna talk logically?  I’m game.  If you don’t make a bigger effort to protect the poor right now, I can practically guarantee that you’ll have a full-on riot on your hands.” ~Day, p. 110-111

“I have fought
And with flesh and blood I commanded an army
Through it all
I have given my heart for a moment of glory.”
~Black Veil Brides, “In The End

Anden narrows his eyes.  “What makes you think they’re so loyal to the Republic?”

“Let me lead them,” I say. ~Day, p. 125

“Love, love will tear us apart again.” ~Joy Division, “Love Will Tear Us Apart

“The Princeps-Elect Jun Iparis.  Do you love her?”

An icy claw grips my chest.  “Why?” ~Day, p. 191

8.”When the air that we breath becomes air that we choke
When the marsh fever spreads from the swamps to our homes
When your home on the range has been torn down and paved…”
~Rise Against, “Collapse (Post-Amerika)”

“Run your tests again.  It’s nothing.  I’m not infected.” ~Tess, p. 194

…my mother’s house is boarded up and abandoned… ~Day, p. 220

9. “As their castles crumble slowly
We watch them fall
The crown slips from heads unworthy
As we gain control.”
~Rise Against, “From Heads Unworthy

“Citizens of the Republic,” a grandiose voice says.  “Welcome to the Colonies of America.  As many of you already know, the Colonies have overrun the Republic capital of Denver, and, as such, have declared an unofficial victory over the tyrannical regime that has kept you all under it’s thumb.” ~The Colonies’ Chancellor, p. 197

10. “Be the good girl you always had to be.” -Demi Lovato, “Let It Go

So I smiled and bowed to him like a good Princeps-Elect. ~June, p. 205

11. “If you want to get out alive
Oh run for your life
.~Three Days Grace, “Get Out Alive

“Things won’t go well for you if they win… maybe you should find a way to flee the country.” ~Day, p. 210

12. “You’ve gone away
You don’t feel me here
Anymore.”
~Seether, feat. Amy Lee, “Broken

As I crouch there against him, feeling his life slowly ebb away, I’m consumed with grief and rage. ~June, p. 337

13. “Never thought that I’d be leaving you today…” ~Evanescence, “Together Again

I think of the way he had crouched, sobbing, at his family’s kitchen table, mourning what I had taken away from him.  Now fate has handed the solution to me on a silver platter—Day survived his ordeal, and in return, I need to step out of his life. ~June, p. 349

14. “We’ll be together again.” ~Evanescence, “Together Again

“Hi,” he says. “I’m Daniel.”

“Hi,” I reply. “I’m June.” ~June, p. 369

And that is my Champion playlist!  These were songs I was reminded of as I read the book.  I had such a fun time reading Champion, and making this playlist.  I hope you liked it!

 

Let me know your thoughts!

